History of Buffalo Township, Winnebago County, IA
From: History of Winnebago County and Hancock County, Iowa
A Record of Settlement, Organization,
Progress and Achievement.
The Pioneer Publishing Company
Chicago 1917


Buffalo Township is the most western of the middle tier and embraces congressional township 99, range 26. It was created by the board of supervisors on September 5, 1888, and the first election was ordered to be held at the Barnes schoolhouse. On the north it is bounded by Lincoln Township; on the east by King; on the south by Grant, and on the west by Kossuth County. It was a part of Center Township until the spring of 1881, when it was made a part of Newton. In January, 1886, it was made a part of King and so remained until established as a separate township in 1888.

The surface of the township is gently undulating and in some places the ground was originally swampy. This probably accounts for the fact that the settlements in this part of the county were among the last to be established. The first settlements were made in Buffalo Township while it was still a part of Newton. Within recent years two large drainage districts have been made to include the greater portion of this township, which improvement has reclaimed large tracts of land and has been the means of adding to the population. According to the state census for 1915 the population was 1,500, including the incorporated town of Buffalo Center, only two townships - Fotest and Center - showing a larger number of inhabitants.

The Rock Island Railroad runs east and west, almost in the exact center of the township, and the town of Buffalo Center is located on this railroad, about a mile from the Kossuth County line. In 1916 the property of the township was valued for tax purposes at $537,156, these figures including the town of Buffalo Center.

Return to [ Iowa History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Iowa Biographies ]

Iowa Counties at this web site Audubon County - Buchanan County - Dickinson County - Fayette County - Hancock County - Iowa County - Madison County - Marion County - Plymouth County - Sac County - Wapello County - Winnebago County - Woodbury County

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ PA ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy