History of Morgan Township, Woodbury County, IA
From: History of the Counties of Woodbury and Plymouth, Iowa
A Warner & Co., Publishers
Chicago Illinois, 1890-91

Morgan Township was created September 1, 1879, the order of the supervisors reading as follows: "All of township eighty seven, range forty two, be and is hereby formed into a new township to be called Morgan township." The officers elected at the ensuing election October 14, 1879, were: Justices, J. J. Morgan, William McKenna, William Clark; township clerk, J. J. Morgan.

This township is strictly an agricultural and cattle raising subdivision of the county. Within its bounds, which are Rock on the north, Liston on the south, Ida county on the east and Miller township on the west, there is no postoffice, no store, no mill, no church, no cemetery, and no industrial establishment of any kind, simply corn growing and cattle and hog raising. The land is first class, and some of the finest cattle produced anywhere, are sent to the railroad stations for shipment, whilst large quantities of corn are sent to Anthon and Liston. The township is well watered by small creeks along which grow a little timber, but scarcely good enough in kind to be classed as timber. Morehead creek flows through the eastern portion of Morgan; South branch of Big creek in the northwestern; Reynolds and Koker creeks in the southern and a branch of Miller creek in the western. The township is pretty thickly settled, especially in the southern portion, and it is well provided with schools, there being a school house on section eight, one on section twenty two, one on section twenty eight, and one on section thirty five; still another is about being erected.

In the matter of first settlers very little can be said, but J. J. Morgan, familiarly called Jerry Morgan, was about the first to come. William McKenna and William Clark were here at an early day also. The township is of so late a date that there is none of the usual old history in connection with it. Mr. C. C. Frum has a cattle and hog ranch, which is the leading feature of Morgan.

Return to [ Iowa History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Iowa Biographies ]

Iowa Counties at this web site Audubon County - Buchanan County - Dickinson County - Fayette County - Hancock County - Iowa County - Madison County - Marion County - Plymouth County - Sac County - Wapello County - Winnebago County - Woodbury County

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ PA ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy