History of Brouillett Creek, Edgar County, Il
From: Encyclopedia of Illinois and the History of Edgar County
Edited by: H. Van Sellar.
Munsell Publishing Company
Chicago 1905

The Town of Brouillett Creek is situated north of Hunter, and embraces an area of 21,120 acres (33 sections) of land as good as any better than any outside of Illinois. The lands of this town are about "'aif and 'alf" halI prairie and half timber all of good quality. The timber lands lie along Brouillett Creek and its tributaries, and some of them are quite broken; but, taken all together, the lands of this town are valuable, and very profitable in the hands of the owners who know how to manage them. The gravel roads of the town are very attractive features and give evidence of the public spirit of the people.

The first settlers within the territory now embraced in this town were the Littlefields, Scotts, Hurst, Howes, Houston, Shanes, Wilkin, Camerer, Nobles, Parkers, Jones and Garver. These early settlers preferred the fertile lands bordering on, and sometimes mixing in with the prairie, and here they entered land and established homes that are still occupied by their descendants. This is especially the case with the Scotts, the Littlefields, the Houstons, Parkers and the Wilkins. There is no railroad in the town but Scottland, on the Indiana, Decatur & Western Railroad (now a part of the Cincinnati, Hamilton & Dayton), is near the north side of the town, and Dana, Ind., near the eastern border. These places, with Paris and Vermilion on the south, furnish the markets for the farmers of Brouillett Creek. Logan is the only village in the township; a pretty little hamlet with nice residences, stores and a modern church building, and a townhouse. There are two other churches in the town. The people are well bred, enterprising and abreast of the times in all respects.

TOWN OFFICERS.- George W. Garner, Supervisor; Gere W. O'Briant, Town Clerk; Sampson Workman, Assessor; Taylor Griffith, Collector; McGilbra Hutson, E. E. Scott, Justices of the Peace; Andrew Clark, A. J. Runyan, Constables; Harvey Sutton, Albert Wallace, Jacob McBride, Commissioners of Highways.

Return to [ Illinois History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Illinois Biographies ]

Illinois Counties at this web site - Adams - Carroll - Champaign - Cook - De Kalb - Du Page - Edgar - Kane - LaSalle - Lee - Logan - Macoupin - Madison - Mason - McHenry - McLean - Stark - Stephenson - Vermilion - Will

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ PA ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy