History of Northfield Township, LaSalle County, Il
From: History of LaSalle County, Illinois
By: Michael Cyprian O'Byron
The Lewis Pullishing Company
Chicago and New York 1924

Like most of the other rural divisions of La Salle County, this township lost somewhat in population within the decade between the census of 1910, which recorded 768, and that of 1920, which gives the population as 694. The township is in the northeast corner of the county, and its only stream of any appreciable order is Somonauk Creek.

Northville Township was organized in 1850, in which year its first officials were elected, as follows: Supervisor, W. L. F. Jones; clerk, William Slye; assessor, Levi Wright; collector, J. Poor; highway commissioners, James Dickson, H. H. Hendrick, L. Suppes; justices of the peace, M. H. West, R. Smith; constables, F. Warner, D. J. Hunt.

The first settlements in this township were made in 1834, and it is possible to give the names of a number of the pioneers who came here prior to 1840. Letsome, Dubois and Armstrong, typical frontiersmen, established themselves in this township in an early day. In the fall of 1835 John T., Charles, Barney S., Lindsey, and R. P. Carr settled on section 26, they having come from Onondaga County, New York. From that county came also Isaac Potter, who arrived in 1834 and who is credited with having been the first real settler in the township, where he was later joined by his brothers Darius and Lyman. Another pioneer from the same county of the Empire State was Eli M. Kinne, who arrived in October, 1835. Other names of pioneers of that decade are Lewis Suppes, Henry Hull, Joseph Stockham, David Crawford, William Slye, Abijah Haman, Samuel Lewis, Levi Wright, Conrad and Frederick Smith, Horace Williams, James Whitmore (who was later joined by his brothers Harvey, Murray, David, Joseph, Tracy and Albert), Orange Potter, Moses H. West, John Potter, Jonathan Cooley, James Roberts, Henry G. Murray, Harrison W. Sweetland, Nathaniel Seaman, Jacob and Richard Seaman, Thomas Grandsen, W. L. F. Jones, Hugh Allen, Daniel McNett, Henry Curtis, Samuel Graff John and Henry Sherman, Jeremiah Hough, and Samuel and George Warner.

The embryonic - Village of Asberry was early founded in this township, but the coming of the railroads caused its utter decadence as a trading point.

Return to [ Illinois History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Illinois Biographies ]

Illinois Counties at this web site - Adams - Carroll - Champaign - Cook - De Kalb - Du Page - Edgar - Kane - LaSalle - Lee - Logan - Macoupin - Madison - Mason - McHenry - McLean - Stark - Stephenson - Vermilion - Will

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ PA ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy