History of Otter Creek Township, LaSalle County, Il
From: History of LaSalle County, Illinois
By: Michael Cyprian O'Byron
The Lewis Pullishing Company
Chicago and New York 1924

The principal watercourses in this township are Otter Creek and Wolfe Creek, and from the former the township received its name. This township, originally a part of Bruce Township, was cut off and organized as an independent township in the spring of 1868, and under the new regime its first officers, elected in that year, were as here noted: Supervisor, Martin H. Crider; clerk, James L. Sherman; assessor, John S. Smith; collector, Orrin Clark; highway commissioners, John Funk, Charles Gurney; justice of the peace, James J. McKernan; constable, James Tremary.

Census figures of 1910 indicate the population of Otter Creek Township as 1,167, and the 1920 census records 1,099. Among the pioneers who settled within the present limits of the township in the decade between 1830 and 1840 were Solomon and Hiram Brock (twin brothers), James McKernan, Benjamin Craig, Henry Pickens, James Pickens, Martin Dukes, Robert Wade, and James Spencer. Three small villages are in this township, Otter, Bruceville and Otter Creek, each of which formerly had a postoffice prior to the introduction of the rural free mail delivery.

Return to [ Illinois History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Illinois Biographies ]

Illinois Counties at this web site - Adams - Carroll - Champaign - Cook - De Kalb - Du Page - Edgar - Kane - LaSalle - Lee - Logan - Macoupin - Madison - Mason - McHenry - McLean - Stark - Stephenson - Vermilion - Will

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ PA ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy