History of Peru Township, LaSalle County, Il
From: History of LaSalle County, Illinois
By: Michael Cyprian O'Byron
The Lewis Pullishing Company
Chicago and New York 1924

This township, under the name of Salisbury, was organized April 2, 1850, the present name having been adopted a few years later. The township has within its borders the City of Peru, including which its population in 1910 was 8,620, the census of 1920 giving the population as 9,227.

Prominent among the pioneers who here settled within the period from 1830 to 1835, inclusive, were John Hays, Lyman D. Brewster, William Paul, Ulysses Spaulding, and Theron D. Brewster. The Illinois River crosses the township from east to west and divides it into approximately equal parts.

The history of Peru Township is amplified in a measure by the record concerning the City of Peru, on other pages of this publication.

The first township officers (1850) were as here designated: Supervisor, John Hoffman; clerk, W. Chumasero; assessor, Richard Cody; collector, James Cahill; highway commissioners, J. D. Matheny, M. Burk, W. Roush; justices of the peace, P. M. Kilduff, P. Cosgrove; constables, M. Griffith, James Cody.

Return to [ Illinois History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Illinois Biographies ]

Illinois Counties at this web site - Adams - Carroll - Champaign - Cook - De Kalb - Du Page - Edgar - Kane - LaSalle - Lee - Logan - Macoupin - Madison - Mason - McHenry - McLean - Stark - Stephenson - Vermilion - Will

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ PA ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy