History of Vermillion Township, LaSalle County, Il
From: History of LaSalle County, Illinois
By: Michael Cyprian O'Byron
The Lewis Pullishing Company
Chicago and New York 1924

The fine tract of timber known as Bailey’s Grove, through which flows Bailey’s Creek, had much to do with attracting early settlers to this township. Lewis Bailey, who came to Illinois in 1825, was the first settler in Vermilion Township, and his son Augustus was undoubtedly the first male white child born in the township, a daughter having here been previously born to Mr. and Mrs. Christopher Long, who likewise were early settlers. William Seeley came with his family to the township in the spring of 1830, and later he was associated with Charles Elliott in erecting the old stone mill on the Vermilion River at Lowell, a little village which was laid out by him. Other names of more or less prominence in the early development of this section of the county were those of Jacob Moon, John Slater, John Bailey, Leslie Kent, Daniel Warren, William Pettigrew, Deacon John Leonard, Levi Jones, Jacob Elliott, Emery Stanford, Leonard Bullock, Henry L. Fulton, Joseph Hamar, Benjamin Washburn, Henry Angell, Levi Woodward, Lloyd C. Knapp, Joel Alvord (also his Sons, Joel, Edward and Nelson), Jacob Barr, William Groom, Madison Goslin, Nathan Hawley, Jacob Burgess, Israel Hutchinson, Jonathan Hutehinson, Bailey Barrass, Josiah Seybold, Chester Dryer, Moses and Fernal Little, Peter Schoonover, Benjamin Landy (a pioneer abolitionist of national reputation), and David Perkins.

The Village of Lowell was among the first to be established in the county, and for a number of years it was a trading and industrial point of no little prominence. It is now a little hamlet with a population of about fifty. The 1920 census gives Vermilion Township a population of 510.

Vermilion Township was erected April 2, 1850, and its first corps of officials was as here designated: Supervisor,
E. Stanford; clerk, S. S. Hall; assessor, C. Dryer; collector, P. S. Ellsworth; highway coramissioners, Henry Angell, G. M. Newton, Clement Gooding; justices of the peace, G. M. Newton, Moses Little; constables, P. S. Ellsworth, Sanford Harwood.

Return to [ Illinois History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Illinois Biographies ]

Illinois Counties at this web site - Adams - Carroll - Champaign - Cook - De Kalb - Du Page - Edgar - Kane - LaSalle - Lee - Logan - Macoupin - Madison - Mason - McHenry - McLean - Stark - Stephenson - Vermilion - Will

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ PA ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy