History of Valley Township, Stark County, Il
From: Stark County Illinois and its People
J. Knox Hill, Supervising Editor.
The Pioneer Publishing Company
Chicago 1916


Valley Township occupies the southeast corner of the county and embraces Congressional Township 12 north, range 7 east. It is bounded on the north by Penn Township; on the east by Marshall County; on the south by Peoria County, and on the west by the Township of Essex. Previous to the introduction of the township system in 1853, this part of the county farmed a part of the Wyoming Precinct. When the county was divided into townships the name "Valley" was conferred upon this political subdivision for the reason that it occupies the broad, fertile valley at the foot of the highest divide in the state. Camping Run flows in a westerly direction through the northern part and Mud Run through the southern part. With a generally level or slightly rolling surface and a productive soil, some of the finest farms in the county are in Valley Township.

With the exception of section 16 the public school section and a few isolated tracts here and there, practically the entire township was claimed by veterans of the War of 1812 under the Military Bounty Act. Following is a list of soldiers' land warrants located between the years 1817 and 1820:

Section 1, Charles Gibhard and Linus Gilbert; section 2, Justus Cobb and Thomas Edwards; section 3, Joseph McCord and John Thornburg; section 4, John Vinchane and Charles Young; section 5, Welcome Butterworth (320 acres); section 6, John Sargent and James Sawyer, section 7, Isaac Paulding and Samuel P. Stegner; section 8, Isaac Childs, John Erskine, Hugh Robb and Nehemiah Wood; section 9, Richard Horton, William Herrald, William W. Sickles and Nicholas Van Steyke; section 10, Benjamin Fall, Caleb Johnson, Leverett Richardson and John Vanderbeck; section 11, John Green, David Page and Edward Wyman; section 12, William Heath, Thomas H. Parker and John Pritchard; section 13, Robert Brown, Philip Clarke, Robert Cockles and Thompson White; section 14, Zerah Call, John Coffey, Oliphant Coleman and Charles Kitchen; section 15, Lodowick Blackley, James Briggs and John O'Neil; section 17, George Armstrong, John Concannon, Hampton Owens and John Thompson; section 18, Isaac Ackerman, James Beardwine, Pleasant Meredith and Peter Rotis; section 19, John Bingham, Norman Collins and Benjamin R. Meredith; section 20, Daniel Burns, William Dillon, Philip Kinston and Nathaniel White; section 21, John Booth, Gerard Gibson, John L. Griswold and William Walker; section 22, David Durand and Charles Tabor; section 23, John Andrews, Isaac Garrett and Nathan Hall; section 24, Charles Curran, William T. Graves, William McGlynn and Owen Riley; section 25, Samuel Adams, Thomas Carty, James Sproul and Joseph Yates; section 26, Frederick Cook, Frank Lowder, John McCormack and Benjamin Tarr; section 27, Ichabod Colby, Thomas Harris and Conrad Mandell; section 28, Clement C. Minor; section 29, David Guthrie, David Bringman, Francis Dudley and Moses Hamphill; section 30, John Archibald, Benjamin S. Snyder and Alexander Waistcoat; section 31, John Ayler, Henry Emery, Michael Gebhart and Daniel Palmer; section 32, Silas Beverstock, Samuel Chatterton, Calvin Hoyt and John Lackey; section 33, William Hearn, William Martland, Aaron Turner and Horton Wood; section 34, Peter Holloway, Isaac Smith, William Tapp and Daniel Woolford; section 35, Putnam Conouss, Ahaz Cook and James H. Rowland; section 36, Like Barton, Moses Davis and Zeba Parmelee.

As in the other townships of the county, these military titles subsequently caused numerous misunderstandings and retarded settlement to some extent. Among those who entered lands along in the 30s for actual occupation were Edwin and Titus Hutchinson, William C Cummings, Joseph Sulliman, Charles Pope and a few others. The school section was not disposed of until 1851.

On July 17, 1847, the first school trustees David Rouse, Z. G. Bliss and William C. Cummings were chosen at an election held at the house of David Rouse, and the township was soon afterward organized for school purposes. There were then but nine families, with forty one children, and only two districts were established. Since then the two original districts have been subdivided until in 1915 there were eight. The eight schoolhouses in the township were then valued at $8,650 and during the school year of 1914-15 ten teachers were employed.

Valley is fairly well provided with transportation facilities, the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad passing through the western part and the Chicago & Northwestern through the southeastern portion. Stark on the former and Speer on the latter are the only railroad stations. In 1910 the population was 821, an increase of 33 during the preceding decade, and in 1914 the assessed value of the property, including railroads, was $856,836.

Return to [ Illinois History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Illinois Biographies ]

Illinois Counties at this web site - Adams - Carroll - Champaign - Cook - De Kalb - Du Page - Edgar - Kane - LaSalle - Lee - Logan - Macoupin - Madison - Mason - McHenry - McLean - Stark - Stephenson - Vermilion - Will

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ PA ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy