History of Dover Township, Kansas
From: History of Shawnee County, Kansas
and Representative Citizens.
Edited by James L. King, Topeka, Kansas
Richmond & Arnold Publishers
Chicago 1905

DOVER TOWNSHIP - Established in 1867, located immediately north of Auburn township, on the Wabaunsee County line, and extending north to the Kansas River. The first actual settlers were Alfred and John Sage, who opened farms within the boundaries of the township July 18, 1856. In the fall of the same year they were joined by Thomas and Albert Haskell, and John Rust. In the early part of 1859 the colony was augmented by the arrival of John and Noah Gibbs, William Collins and Jacob Orcutt; and in the fall of the same year by T. D. Parks, Daniel Sayres and Jacob Haskell. From 1857 to 1867 Dover was a part of Auburn township.


The history of the township really dates from the year 1848, when a trading post was established on its northern boundary. A small settlement gathered there, to which the name of Uniontown was given. It became well known throughout the country, as the old California trail of 1849 crossed the river at this point-said to be the only rocky ford on the river. The first settlers, most of them Indian traders, were: P. E. Sarple, R. A. Kissey, O. H. P. Polk, T. D. S. McDonald, Thomas N. Stinson and W. W. Cleghorn, in 1848; and J. R. Whitehead, J. D. Leslie and William Dyer in 1849. John W. Brown and Anthony A. Wards lived in Uniontown in 1851, the former going to Auburn, and the latter to Topeka in a later year. Large sums of money were disbursed at the trading post, which was abandoned in 1855. The 50 or more buildings comprising the town of Uniontown passed away with the post, and the site reverted to farm land.

In the year 1870 the village of Dover was established, in the southwestern corner of the township. The name Dover came from Dover, New Hampshire, the former residence of the Haskell family above referred to. The first officers of Dover township, elected in 1868, were: E. M. Hewins, trustee; James Bassett, treasurer; Henry A. Kellam, clerk; Jacob Haskell and George Harden, justices; M. M. St. John and W. O. Harris, constables. Albert Sage was the first postmaster at Dover, appointed in 1862. Valencia and Willard are two other small towns in the township, with populations of too and 120 respectively. They are located on the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway, running west from Topeka.

Return to [ Kansas History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Illinois Biographies ]

Kansas Counties at this web site - Anderson - Atchison - Butler - Leavenworth - Lyon - Sedgwick - Shawnee

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy