Also see [ Railway
Officials in America
THIS town was incorporated in 1701. This is principally an agricultural town, on the north bank of the Merrimac.
This town has a tolerably good soil, and is watered by Beaver brook, which crosses it from New Hampshire, and many
smaller streams. Since the rapid increase of the population in Lowell, a good market has been found for the agricultural
productions of the town. “A fine and picturesque bridge was built many years since from this town to Chelmsford,
over the head of Pawtucket falls. The piers are founded on the rocks that divide and break the falls, and the arches
springing from rock to rock, and the water foaming beneath, has a wild and romantic appearances Another elegant
and costly bridge, just below the falls, connects this town with Lowell. It was built in 1826, is about 500 feet
long, is roofed the whole length, and presents a very pleasing appearance.” In 1837, there was in the town 1 woollen
mill, with 4 sets of machinery; 700 pairs of boots and 13,600 of shoes were manufactured, valued at $12,000; the
value of cutlery manufactured was $4,000. Population, 1,898. Distance, 16 miles from Concord, 18 from Haverhill,
and 27 from Boston.
Historical Collections Relating to the
History and Antiquities of
Every town in Massachusetts with
By John Warner Barber.
Published by Warren Lazell.