History of Iosco Township, Waseca County, Minnesota
From: Child's History of Waseca County, Minnesota
BY: James E. Child
The Press of The Owatonna Chronicle, Publisher.
Copyright 1905


This township is one of the favored ones of the great Northwest. It is rich in soil, with an undulating surface, plenty of timber, and ample drainage. Upland, meadow, and groves are so evenly distributed that nearly every farm has its proper proportion of each.

The first settlers in this township were Luke B. Osgood, Daniel McDaniels, and John H. Wheeler. David Wood followed a few days later, and Buel Welsh made a claim here in 1855, but soon returned to Faribault.

This township was organized separate from other territory the 5th day of April, 1858. On that day the board of county commissioners, consisting of Messrs. E. B. Stearns, of Otisco; John Bailey, of St. Mary; and Luman C. Wood, of Woodville, made an order constituting township 108 N. of Range 23 W. the town of Iosco, and appointed Messrs. H. W. Peck, George L. Leonard, and David Smith judges of the election which was to be held at the house of Daniel Tripp, in said township.

The minutes of the first town meeting read as follows:


"At an election held at the house of Daniel Tripp, in the town of Iosco, Waseca county, Minn., on the 11th day of May, A. D. 1858, the following named persons received the number of votes set to their respective names for the following offices, to wit:"

Then followed in detail the names of all the candidates and the number of votes each received. N. E. Strong was elected chairman and David Smith and John G. Ward supervisors; Spencer J. Willis, clerk; L. B. Osgood, town collector; A. J. Bell, assessor: B. W. Gifford, overseer of the poor; A. J. Walton, constable; L. P. Kellogg and Silas Ward, justices of the peace. The names of E. Carpenter, James Babcock, Samuel Hardy, William Rockwell, G. L. Leonard and H. P. Chamberlain are recorded as receiving complimentary votes, but nearly the whole vote was cast for the successful candidates. Only forty two votes were cast and the successful candidates received from thirty nine to forty one. The result of the election is certified to by H. W. Peck, David Smith, and G. L. Leonard, judges of election, and attested by N. E. Strong and M. L. Kellogg, clerks. The town was divided into seven road districts and the following road overseers were appointed: A. J. Walton, Daniel McDaniels, Silas Ward, John Otis, Segur Johnson, Charles Billings, and Hugh Healey.

There was a large addition to the population of the township in 1856. Early that spring, N. E. Strong, George L. Leonard, Daniel Tripp, Benjamin W. Gifford, and A. A. Cotten platted a village site on section 20 and called it "Empire." It was surveyed and platted by H. W. Peck. William Long, father of Seth W., George and Frank Long, built a sawmill at this place. Thomas and Daniel Tripp built a hotel. It was at this village of Empire that Peter Farrell stabbed and killed Jacob Hagadorn on election day, in October, 1857. After the defeat of Empire in the county seat contest of 1857, the village soon disappeared, and the township reverted to its normal condition as a paradise for farming.

Return to [ Minnesota History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Minnesota Biographies ]

Minnesota Counties at this web site - Dakota - Fillmore - Houston - Waseca - Winona

Also see the local histories for [ CA ] [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ MN ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy