History of Malmo, Nebraska
From: Past and Present Saunders County, Nebraska
A Record of Settlement, Organization, Progress and Achievement
Charles Perky Supervising Editor
The S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. Chiago 1915


In section 15, Mariposa Precinct, is situated the Town of Malmo, a small, but industrious and important town of Saunders County. This town is located on the Schuyler branch of the Burlington Railroad, with two trains each day.

Malmo had its beginning in 1886, at which time the town was surveyed on land purchased from Jerry Fisher. The names of Ostenburg, Bredenburg, Hulsing, Bostrom, Bruce, Blomberg, Rosenberg, Nelson, Larson, Ljungstrom, Olson, Frostrum, Hokanson, Erickson, Eliason and Pherson are prominent among the early settlers of Malmo and vicinity. L. Isaacson was the first to settle anywhere near the site of Malmo. He was from Kristianstad Lan, Sweden, having emigrated to this country in 1868 and settled and homesteaded in the spring of the next year. Andrew Blomberg came two weeks later from Omaha with a colony of Swedes from Dalcadia. The Malmo settlement was originally the first Swedish settlement in the country with an organized church. This church was organized January 15, 1870. More detailed information concerning the Swedish settlements in Saunders County is written in the chapter on early settlement.

Gus Bredenburg, Charles Hulsing and Ed Bostrom constructed the first store in the village in 1887. This was a general store. The firm of Marsh & Chapman put up the second store. The first hotel was owned and operated by Fannie Baldwin.

The Farmers and Merchants Bank of Malmo was started in 1892 by W. H. Ostenburg as a private bank. On March 4, 1893, the bank was incorporated by the following men: W. H. Ostenburg (cashier), J. C. Frahm, R. B. Van Driel (president), C. J. Harrison, Peter Riemers, D. E. Bredenburg (vice president), John Frostrom, J. J. Johnson, C. W. Bruce, A. E Larson, Edward Bostrom and P. B. Olson. The first capital stock was $25,000, the same as at present. The institution carries a surplus fund of $5,000 and the deposits average $200,000 on the year. Peter Riemers is the president in 1915; C. W. Bruce is vice president; Herman Lind is cashier; and W. H. and H. H. Ostenburg, J. C. Frahm, Christian Scow, M S Hills and Andrew Roslund are the directors. This bank has borne a steady reputation for splendid business methods and no bank in the county carries a greater amount of the dependency and faith of the people.

Return to [ Saunders County ] [ NE History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [Adams County Biographies ]

All pages copyright 2009. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy