History of Morse Bluff, Nebraska
From: Past and Present Saunders County, Nebraska
A Record of Settlement, Organization, Progress and Achievement
Charles Perky Supervising Editor
The S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. Chiago 1915


Morse Bluff is a small town, located west of Cedar Bluffs, on the David City branch of the Northwestern. The village was platted in 1887 on land originally owned by William Wheeler, and later transferred to C. L. Morse. The town was named after Mr. Morse. The Bank of Morse Bluff was organized in June, 1891, with the following officers : Jesse Gidley, president; Andrew Fleming, vice president; J. C. Hall, cashier. The present officers are: Walter Fleming, president; J. G. Wilson, vice president; Emil E. Wolf, cashier; C. M Skinner, assistant cashier. The capital stock of the institution is $30,000; the surplus $5,000; and the deposits $250,000.

Morse Bluff is distinctly an agricultural town. The growth has been retarded by the lack of train service, but even with this handicap has a very enduring structure. Morse Bluff has had a water system for five years and electricity for three years.

Return to [ Saunders County ] [ NE History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [Adams County Biographies ]

All pages copyright 2009. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy