PROBABLY no other village of its size on the line of the Erie Railroad be-
tween New York and Chicago attracts the attention of the tourist so
much as Cuba. There are several reasons for this. The village lies com-
pactly on a level site in one of the most bewitching of valleys, the hills sur-
rounding it are of graceful and imposing appearance, the altitude of the rail-
road is such as to present an almost bird's-eye view of the quiet place with
its regular and finely shaded streets, imposing public buildings, churches,
etc., while its graceful private residences stand out in view in fine ornamen-
tation to the scenery. Add to this the fact that the Erie makes a large de-
tour around the village, so that the tourist views it from the east, the south
and the west, giving an idea of a much larger place and the attraction is
partially explained. No finer landscape can be seen in many miles of dis-
tance than is presented from the Erie station. Cuba is an important center
of trade and from the first settlement has been the home of wealthy, cultured
and distinguished people. While many villages of its class, which do not de-
rive growth and population from manufacturing industries, are losing their
importance, Cuba has had a steady, reliable and valuable growth. Its pop-
ulation in 1880 was 1,251, in 1890 1,386.
The site of the village was purchased in 1817 by James Strong, but
Judge Griffin became the owner of the claim in 1820. In 1818 Simeon Hicks
erected a tavern near the site of the Erie station and three years later sold
to Ira Tracy, who had in 1818 bought the house and claim of George Dovener
an early settler. Tracy soon erected a frame tavern with a frame barn,
which for many years was the largest in town. John Nash moved from
Chenango county to Hornellsville in 1815, and in February, 1819, to Cuba,
826 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
settled on the hill east of Cuba village where he took up land at $8 per acre
Later the land was purchased at $3 per acre. Lewis Nash, son of John says
"After we left Hornellsville our first hard day's work was to reach Angelica
where we arrived late in the evening. The next night we got to James
Strong's tavern, four miles east of Cuba." The next day they arrived at
their new house, completed and ready for their occupancy. The first house
west of Nash's in the corporation limits was that of Samuel Nowlin, a log
structure. Hiram Griffin had a log house. Other buildings between that
point and Ira Tracy's tavern were Griffin's tavern and Richard Brownson's
house. Beyond Tracy's lived James Hicks, brother of Simeon of the Hicks
tavern. Between Hicks' clearing and the county line was Calvin T. Cham-
berlain, where the main road crosses the Erie railroad. No very percepti-
ble improvements were made until after 1832, when Stephen Smith pur-
chased the land of Judge Griffin, and Gen. Chamberlain put up a public house
and opened a store. This was the beginning of Cuba village.
It was not a promising outlook to build up a charming village. Main
street was a mirehole in the center of a swamp. The ragged clearing pre-
sented a multitude of unsightly stumps and burned and charred trees were
towering here and there over the water and the mud, the tall grass and
coarse weeds of the fields. But intelligence and industry have marvel-
lously transformed the place, and much, very much, is due to the energy and
capability of the first business men.
The first blacksmiths were Israel Howsell and Vernon Clement. In How-
sell's shop Myron Bigelow did a good business in gunsmithing. A small
pottery was conducted for some years by Hiram Griffin.
An important industry in early years was tanning. Erastus Kinney, a
shoemaker, had a small tannery in the village, while one was built by the
Ferrins, which for a time was run by Alfred Brand, who was the town's first
manufacturer of boots and shoes. W. P. Stevens bought the Stephen Smith
and Robert Adams tannery in 1844. This had been run for 10 or 12 years,
but under Mr. Stevens' control the business assumed quite large dimen-
sions. The plant was burned and rebuilt several times (the last time as a
tannery in 1877). Robert Adams about 1870 built a tannery on the site of
Phelps & Sibley's mills which he sold to W. A. Phelps. It was burned in 1878.
Stephen Smith, a pushing, energetic man had "many irons in the fire,"
and an ashery all through the thirties. By 1840 he abandoned the massive
stone mills he had built on Oil Creek at the northwest corner of the fair
ground some years earlier. Here he had also a large trip hammer in active
operation, manufactured bricks, kept a store and, in other ways tried to
build up the chief center of business there. It was a strife between giants
when he and Gen. C. T. Chamberlain opposed each other. Both were early
merchants on Main St. One owned all the land north of Main St., the other
all south of it. (It is said that every early deed of village lots north of Main
St., were given by Stephen Smith) and no other two men had so much to do
with bringing hither that tide of business operations, which has never ceased
to flow. In 1841 and 1842 Cuba was quite a place. Work on both canal and
railroad was in progress, and there was nearly 400 population and it had a
newspaper, the Cuba Advocate, started in 1839 by I. C. Sheldon. Hon.
Wilkes Angel described it at that period thus:
The country around was comparatively new. The
village was mostly located on swampy
ground. It had no sidewalks, and locomotion was extremely disagreeable and difficult, espe-
cially in wet weather. There were several dry goods stores and groceries, and two hotels. The
merchants were Rufus Colwell, a young man just commencing business, Stephen Smith, an
illiterate but a very active and good business man. He was a land owner, merchant, miller and
husbandman, and at the same time carried on other kinds of business, all with success. He
erected many of the first business buildings in Cuba, none of which resembled any style of
architecture then known to the world. Robert Guilford, another merchant, usually attended to
business in his shirt-sleeves, and generally went around bare-footed and bare-headed. Edwin
W. Park was an extensive grocer. Joseph Palmer was a successful merchant. Among the
old settlers of prominence residing at or near the village were Calvin T. Chamberlain, Dr. Gil-
bert Champlain, Judge Griffin, Simeon C. Moore, Edward H. Johnson, Deacon Wilder, Dea-
con Orton, Joseph Palmer (who also was a merchant), Thomas Scott (grocer), Walter O. Tal-
cott (jeweler), Lewis Nash and Deacon Dunkin. Wolcott Hatch, afterwards county judge,
came about 1836 or 1837. Samuel M. Russell was then practicing law; W. and W. P. Angel
opened their law office in Cuba in 1838. Hon. Marshall B. Champlain was then a student.
William Orton, late president of the W. U. Telegraph Company, was a son of Deacon Orton,
and learned printing in the office of the Cuba Advocate in 1840 and 1841. There was then but
one meetinghouse in the town, the Baptist, in which Elder Anson officiated. Presbyterian
meetings were held in an old schoolhouse. Dr. Griffin, Dr. Palmer and Dr. Maxson were the
physicians, all of the allopathic persuasion, and very respectable. Judge Griffin was a large,
raw-boned man, uncouth in conversation and manners, but of sound common sense, and he
was judge of the court of common pleas. Gardner Sheldon was an early settler, so were the
Scotts and the Baldwins, substantial and good citizens.
The decade from 1840 to 1850 was one of prosperity. Money was brought
in and times made brisk by the building operations on the line of the railroad
and canal, but no great advance was made in the appearance of the village.
The hotels, stores, shops, etc., clustered around the corner of east and west
Main, and South and Genesee streets, but, with the exception of the Davison
block, built in 1835, few buildings were built with great capacity. Every-
thing that Stephen Smith built was solidity itself. The residence of his
grandson, A. W. Smith, standing at the head of Genesee street comes down
from this decade. It was built for a store, has been twice occupied as a
schoolhouse, and now remodeled into a dwelling is an ornament to the village.
Business, especially that of trade, etc., has kept its location at or near the
corners, in a compact location.
Cuba was especially fortunate in very early having an element of cul-
ture which was not given to many of the new villages. In the forties several
notable families were resident here whose influence has ever been felt for
good in the village. Among them was the family of Rev. Jefferson Wynkoop
who, a talented and educated clergyman, was an early pastor of the Presby-
terian Church. His house was the center of the literary circles of that day,
and his daughters married some of Cuba's leading citizens. Mrs. Russell
828 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
Smith is now living here. Mrs. Charles Sherrill, widow of a prominent state
official, whose home is in the national capital passes her summers here. The
Champlain, Angel and Chamberlain families are other noteworthy examples
of the people to whose active labors much of the grace, dignity and refine-
ment of the ladies of Cuba may be justly traced.
Of the public spirited merchants, business men and others of this and
earlier and later periods who have left their impress upon the village and
town are Calvin T. Chamberlain, John Griffin, William Orton, Dr. Gilbert B.
Champlain and his son Marshall B. Champlain, Stephen and Russell Smith,
Joseph Palmer, Rufus Colwell, Simeon C. Moore, Edward H. Johnson,
Henry and William P. Stevens, all of whom Cuba delights to honor.
THE VILLAGE CORPORATION. At the Railroad Hotel Nov. 9, 1850, was
held an election to obtain the expression of the people concerning incorpor-
ation. The petition for incorporation was dated Sept. 28, 1850, and signed
by M. B. Champlain, L. A. Butts, J. A. Willard and E. W. Park. The popu-
lation of the territory proposed for the village, exclusive of Irish laborers on
the railroad, was 896; and the number of Irish resident in the same limits
was 275. At this election 66 votes were cast in favor, and 4 against the pro-
posed corporation. Accordingly William G. Angel then county judge, certi-
fied that "I am satisfied all the proceedings in respect to notifying and hold-
ing such meeting, canvassing the votes given thereat, and making such cer-
tificate of canvass, are legal, and that Cuba village is therefore duly incor-
The territory thus incorporated measured 769.68 acres. December 11,
1850, was held the first corporation election, which resulted in the election
of these officers: Trustees. Lewis Nash, L. A. Butts, Alfred Griffin, A.
Stewart, Robert Smith; assessors, Leonard Anson, Henry Stevens, Henry
R. Allen; corporation clerk, James A. Story; treasurer, Bogardus Merritt;
collector, Salmon Willard; fire wardens, Erastus Richardson, Dorrana C.
Rann, Charles P. Robinson, and Albert W. Kimball; pound master, Bordus
Bylaws were adopted. Among, the provisions was this: "Every occu-
pant of any building in which there is a fire kept, shall furnish himself with
one leathern fire bucket, and a ladder of sufficient length to reach the house
top," and a fine of one dollar, and the cost of collection was imposed for the
violation of the ordinance. At a regular meeting of the trustees, held at W.
Otis Osborne's store, Dec. 31, 1870, it was resolved to re-incorporate the vil-
lage under the state law passed April 20, 1870. At Palmer's Hall, Feb. 4,
1871, at a special meeting for incorporation 47 votes were cast in favor, and 3
against this measure, and the village was re-incorporated with its present
boundaries (the same as fixed in 1850), which are:
Beginning at the northeast corner of lot number
45 in the town of Cuba, running thence
south 95 chains west 98 chains, and 43 links, north 31 chains and 70 links, to the south bank of
Oil creek, thence up said creek to the north line of said lot number 45, thence east 42 chains
and 75 links to the place of beginning.
The affairs of the village continue to be administered under the rules and
regulations of the corporation. The present village officers are: H. C.
Morgan, president; W. A. Bates, J. A. Lanning, Oscar F. Eaton, trustees;
F. O. Olive, secretary; C. A. Dekay, collector; W. B. Ackerly, treasurer.
CUBA UNION SCHOOL AND ACADEMY.--Next to the churches and homes
of a town stands the school, which in its influence upon a community rivals
them both. Ten years passed after the first settlement before the first
school was instituted, the one kept by David Row in 1822. This was owing
to the settlements being small and widely scattered. Since that time the
schools of Cuba have kept pace with the progress of the town, in importance
and material improvement, and population. The district schoolhouses are
neat and tidy, generally well located and kept in good repair, answering well
the purpose. We give the apportionment of the public school moneys for
each district of the town for 1896: No. 1, $1,099.52; No. 2, $115.81; No. 3,
$128.08; No. 4, $105.75; No. 5, $110.88; No. 6, $107.90; No. 7, $110.06; No. 8,
$117.12: No. 9, $106,82; total $2.001.94.
Down to 1869 beside the district school there were in the village of Cuba
at different times select schools of more or less ability and merit. The older
people will readily recall the names of Mr. H. H. Lee, Misses Emily Elliott
and E. Culver, Mr. Vosburgh, Mr. McIntyre, Hon. J. N. Davidson, Hon. H.
M. Teller, Hon. O. T. Stacy and others who have taught the village school.
In 1869 the people of Cuba decided upon a change from what was called
the old school law to the union school law, leading citizens became interested,
and set about the improvement, the new district was described, and a board
of education elected with E. D. Loveridge president, and H. A. Mead secre-
tary. This was the most important step ever taken in school administration
and the benefits derived have been very apparent. A large and conveniently
arranged school building was soon erected, a regular course adopted, and
classes have been graduated nearly every year since. Many who have
begun their education here have won success in college and university and
achieved distinction in the different professions and in trade.
The real and substantial growth of the school dates from the change in
1869, since which time its progress and growth has been so great as at two
different times to make necessary enlargements of the building to accommo-
date the increasing attendance. Since 1869 the principals have been: Profs.
Lewis, Blakeslee, Rogers, Clark, Wells, W. W. Bean, Kinney and Dewey.
The present board of education is Dr. G. Whipple, president: E. A. Bartlett,
Frank B. Sibley, George H. Swift, and A. A. Lawrence, secretary. The
present corps of instructors is: Prof. J. E. Dewey, principal; Miss Eugenia
Eaton, preceptress; Miss Mary Shepard, assistant; Jno. D. Jones, gram-
mar; Miss Mariette Presho, advanced intermediate; Miss Elizabeth Stowell.
B. intermediate; Miss Jessie Record, advanced primary; Miss Evaline
Richey, B. primary. Number of registered pupils 400. The school ranks
as a High School in the classification of the "Regents" University of the
state of New York, to which it was admitted in 1881.
830 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y
FIRE DEPARTMENT.--Cuba has suffered greatly from fires. A list of
about 30 fires, with dates and particulars, appeared in the county history
published in 1879. One thing is noticeable, however, that in every instance
the burned buildings were replaced with better structures, which often
were permanent and substantial brick buildings. Since 1879 several bad
fires have occurred, notably the burning of the tannery building of W. P.
Stevens about 1891. It was then used as a butter package factory. This
was the third building burned on that site which is now occupied by the cold
storage warehouse of Ackerly, Sill & Co. The mills of Ackerly, Sill & Co.
were burned in 1888, but immediately rebuilt.
The pioneer fire company of Cuba was the "Hook and Ladder" of which
Reuben Hills was captain, in 1866. Before that the village had only the
"leathern bucket brigade." In 1867 a fire department was organized, E. D.
Loveridge was president; Russell Smith, "chief"; E. B. Hunt, foreman; J.
H. Hallock, assistant foreman; Horace Eaton, foreman of hose; Jasper Pal-
mer, assistant; R. H. Moses, treasurer; and Joseph Palmer, secretary. The
company was called Rescue Fire Company, and the "Red Jacket," a second-
hand engine was purchased in Elmira, and a supply of hose secured. In
1873, the village purchased a lot and erected a substantial brick building on
Genesee street; the lower story for an engine house, and the upper one for
a town hall. In 1874 a tower was erected and a bell placed in it at a cost of
$286. In 1877 the engine and hose companies were incorporated; and E. R.
Nash and Edward Adams elected delegates to the State Firemen's Associa-
tion. The first fire to which the Cuba firemen were called was Jan. 13, 1868,
when Russell Smith's barn was burned. They have since been called out
many times, have been quick to respond and brave and daring in perform-
ance of their duty. Since the introduction of the water works, no need
exists for engines, hose and hook and ladder being all that is required. Of
the Cuba Fire Department, Walter Amsden is president, A. E. Drew, secre-
tary, and A. A. Arnold treasurer. Three hose companies and a hook and
ladder company are the present efficient equipment for service. RESCUE
HOSE Co. No. 1.--R. H. Grady foreman, L. L. Burns assistant, Ralph Fay
secretary. D. B. WHIPPLE HOSE Co.--Clarence Thompson foreman, Ches-
ter Olin assistant, William Merritt secretary. GLENN HOSE Co.--John
Hammond foreman, W. H. Smith assistant, Harry Kelly secretary. E. D.
LOVERIDGE HOOK AND LADDER Co.--George Kinney foreman, F. A. Hicks
assistant, A. E. Underwood secretary, C. S. Davis treasurer.
CUBA WATER WORKS.--Down to 1889 the people of the village depended
upon wells, springs and cisterns for their water supply. The most import-
ant event of 1889 was the construction of the superior gravity system of
water works. These works cost $33,000, raised by bonding the village at
the rate of 3 1/2 per cent interest. This enterprise met with bitter opposition,
was accomplished only after much hard fighting, and has proven one of Cuba's
choicest blessings. The reservoir is located on the Enos Keller farm on
Prospect street, and the elevation is 198 feet above the corners in the busi-
ness part of the village. The water, obtained from several springs at an
average distance of three miles, is unexcelled for purity, and the pipes are
so arranged that the water supplied to the houses comes direct from the
source of supply, while that for extinguishing fires is taken from the reser-
voir. The rentals in 1893 exceeded $2,000, and there is no doubt that the
system will pay for itself without cost to the village, and when paid for that
the revenue will pay most of the village taxes.
CUBA FAIR ASSOCIATION.--To the late Russell Smith belongs the honor
of being the originator of the Valley Point Agricultural and Mechanical So-
ciety. He conceived the idea in 1866, and to carry out the project began
work on what has so long been known as Smith's Driving Park, which has a
track a mile long and is noted as being one of the finest in the state. In
1867 the track and the buildings suitable for holding a fair were completed,
and the use generously tendered to the people free of charge. Aug. 6, 1868,
the society was organized. Hon. E. D. Loveridge was made president, Geo.
H. Eldridge secretary and James A. Story treasurer, Samuel H. Conant 1st
vice president. The first fair was held Oct. 13, 14 and 15, 1868. There
were 530 entries at this fair; ten years later the entries numbered 3,000.
The receipts the first year were $1,707.50, before 1879 the annual receipts
were $5,213.77. Mr. Loveridge was president for five years and declining
to serve longer was succeeded by Hon. Marshall B. Champlain who died in
the sixth year of his presidency. He was succeeded by Hon. Harlan J.
Swift. So it is seen that the leading men have taken great interest in its
success. Present officers, George Amsden president, Frank B. Lyon sec-
retary, H. C. Morgan treasurer; Wm. Ormiston, W. M. Bennett, C. M. Mc-
Dougal, L. T. Hendryx, A. A. Arnold, directors.
CUBA CEMETERY.--In 1841 a cemetery association was organized, and
two acres on a gentle elevation in the east part of the village bought of Lewis
Nash, at a price of $300. The trustees of the association were Warner Hast-
ings, C. H. Matthews and Elisha Webb, for the terms of one, two and three
years in the order named. The grounds were soon partly laid out in lots,
and trustee Warner Hastings was the first one buried in the cemetery. Dr.
Stephen Maxson was chosen trustee. In 1850 although many interments
had been made, the grounds still remained unpaid for. A new board was
elected, consisting of W. P. Stevens, Lewis Nash and N. Hatch. Of this
board Lewis Nash discharged the duties of clerk, treasurer and salesman
from that time till 1879 and later. Funds were soon collected and the land
paid for and improvements begun. An addition to the grounds at an ex-
pense of $130 was made in 1854, and then ensued a period of laxity in the
administration of its affairs. The association was again re-organized in 1869,
with these trustees: Reuben Moses, Selah B. Bostwick, Lewis Nash, E. D.
Loveridge, E. S. Bruce and John C. Adams, and more additions to the grounds
were made so that in all there was about five acres. Immediately on the
east is the consecrated ground of the Catholic society. This cemetery
was started before much had been done in laying out burial grounds with a
832 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
view to making them attractive by gracefully curving walks and drives, and
so was laid out after the old style, regular and precise, and yet the lots, many
of them, have been much improved, and greatly beautified by planting trees
and shrubbery. Many fine monuments and stately columns are found in
these grounds. The present officers are, E. D. Loveridge president, Walter
D. Ormiston secretary, W. O. Phelps treasurer, who are also trustees, and
N. H. Briggs and Arthur Kinney other trustees.
PHYSICIANS.--See page 230.
DENTIST.--V. W. Alexander.
ATTORNEYS.--See " Courts and Lawyers. "
NEWSPAPERS.--Patriot, Republican, W. J. Glenn, proprietor. Post,
Independent Republican, J. F. Coad, proprietor.
CUBA NATIONAL BANK.--M. J. Green & Co. were the first to establish
a regular banking business in Cuba. This was in the early fifties. In 1855
Mr. Green with other leading men took measures to organize a state bank,
$100,000 of stock was subscribed, and June 1, 1855, "The Cuba Bank" was
organized with these directors: Hon. Benjamin Chamberlain, George W.
Robinson, Robert Norton, Smith Parish, Silas S. Seely, J. B. Spaulding,
Marvin J. Green, Joseph Palmer, C. P. Bissell, Samuel W. Merrill, Robert
Smith, Edwin W. Park and Edward H. Johnson. The officers were: presi-
dent, Hon. Benjamin Chamberlain; vice president, Smith Parish, who de-
clined and C. P. Bissell was elected; cashier, M. J. Green. Mr. Bissell re-
signed Oct. 3, 1855, and Robert Smith was elected and held office until his
death in 1857. Jan. 4, 1858, Edward H. Johnson was elected vice president.
Henry R. Kendall was made book-keeper June 4, 1860. About the same
date Mr. Green resigned and Joel W. Rowley was elected cashier and
Major A. C. Bishop book-keeper. The latter was succeeded by C. G. Har-
mon on June 15, 1863. General C. T. Chamberlain was elected president
June 20, 1864, in the place of Benjamin Chamberlain, resigned. April 13,
1865, the board of directors decided to come under the U. S. banking sys-
tem and the Cuba National Bank was soon created. Jan. 9, 1866, Gabriel
Bishop was made book-keeper and Dec. 26, 1867, was elected cashier. He
died Feb. 12, 1882. Jan. 22, 1868, Gen. C. T. Chamberlain resigned as presi-
dent and his brother. Hon. Benj. Chamberlain was re-elected, but he died
in February and Hon. E. D. Loveridge, then vice president, acted as
president until Jan. 12, 1869, when he was elected president and S.
W. Cole, vice president. C. M. Colwell was made book-keeper June 27, 1869.
January 8, 1878, Charles S. Davis was elected to the position. In 1882 Mr.
Davis was elected cashier, which position he still holds. August 27, 1873,
the capital stock was increased to $150,000, but Aug. 30, 1876, it was reduced
to $100,000. On the whole this bank has been eminently successful, often
giving large dividends to its stockholders, one year paying them 18 per cent.
It has always been sound and strong, and under the long and efficient ad-
ministration of President Loveridge it has inspired unlimited confidence in
the business community. The directors are E. D. Loveridge, president; O.
J. Elmer, vice president; C. S. Davis, cashier; C. A. Ackerly, assistant cash-
ier; C. S. Whitney, P. B. Reid, Gardner Whipple, C. A. Wheeler, J. C. Leg-
gett. The condition of the bank is: Resources.-Loans and discounts, $267. -
111.64; U. S. bonds, 4 per cent, $107,000; banking house, $8,000; cash on hand,
with banks and U. S. treasurer, $33,752.22; total. $415,863.86. Liabilities.-
Capital stock paid in, $100,000; surplus fund, $50,000; undivided profits.
$10,535.38; deposits, $165.328.48; circulation. $90,000; total, $415.863.86.
THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF CUBA had its inception in the organ-
ization, of the Cuba Banking Company in September, 1866, with A. W.
Miner president, L. F. Lawton cashier, and capital stock of $25,000, increased
in January, 1870, to $50,000, when S. H. Morgan was made assistant cashier,
and in September, 1871, he succeeded Mr. Lawton as cashier. In January,
1876, the Cuba State Bank was organized from the above company with
$50,000 capital and these officers: A. W. Miner, president; M. B. Champlain,
vice-president; S. H. Morgan, cashier. The State Bank was succeeded in
January, 1880, by the FIRST NATIONAL BANK, with these officers: Elmer M.
Bond, president; William P. Stevens, vice-president; Mortimer W.
Potter, cashier; Henry C. Morgan, assistant cashier; Timothy J. Car-
mody, bookkeeper. Mr. Bond resigned July 5, 1886, and William P.
Stevens was elected to the position. He was succeeded as president
by George H. Eldridge. Dr. Seneca Allen was made vice-president.
He was succeeded by A. Miner Wellman. Mr. Potter resigned as cashier
in January, 1881, and Henry C. Morgan, the present incumbent, was
elected. A. Emmet Thompson is bookkeeper. The stockholders have
always declared a semi-annual dividend of 5 per cent, and an accumulated
surplus of $50,000, which makes the capital stock equivalent to $100,000.
Mr. Morgan has held the position of bank cashier the longest of any man in
Allegany county. The First National Bank has always been considered one
of the soundest financial institutions in the state. The present officers are:
George H. Eldridge, president; A. Miner Wellman, vice-president; H. C.
Morgan, cashier. The condition of the bank is: Resources,--Loans and dis-
counts, $171,347.57; overdrafts, secured and unsecured, $1,707.71; U. S.
bonds to secure circulation, $12,500; stocks, securities, etc., $4,445.07;
banking-house furniture and fixtures, $7,500; due from national banks
(not reserve agents), $658.69; due from state banks and bankers, $792.76;
due from approved reserve agents, $7,981.98; checks and other cash items,
$1,454.94; fractional paper currency, nickels and cents, $104.48; specie,
$6,175; legal-tender notes, $3,256; redemption fund with U. S. treasurer (5
per cent of circulation), $562.50; total, $218,486.70. Liabilities,--capital stock
paid in, $50,000; surplus fund, $50,000; undivided profits, less expenses
and taxes paid, $6,627.55; national bank notes outstanding, $11,250; due
to state bank and bankers $4.75; individual deposits subjects to check,
$100,604.40; total, $218,486.70.
BOARD OF TRADE.--Some years ago the merchants and business men of
Cuba organized a board of trade, with these officers: D. B. Sill, president;
834 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
George D. Whipple, secretary; Charles A. Ackerly, treasurer; J. H. Setchel,
vice president; W. P. Stevens, E. D. Loveridge, D. B. Whipple, George H.
Eldridge, F. M. Todd, C. M. McDougal, J. S. Webster, executive committee.
It is the province of this board to look after the material interests of the
town, endeavor to establish manufactures and industrial enterprises, and
stimulate village improvements. Its effect has been felt in reduced trans-
portation, an excellent system of water works, an abundant supply of natural
gas for light and fuel, good churches, a first class school, cheap rents and
building sites. The present officers are D. B. Sill, president; Frank H. Sib-
ley, secretary; Charles A. Aekerly, treasurer.
HOTELS.--No town of its size has two such houses of entertainment as
Cuba can boast of, Hotel Kinney, Arthur Kinney, proprietor and the St.
James, J. S. Patterson, proprietor.
MERCHANTS PROTECTIVE ASSOCIATION.--This association was organized
in November, 1895, for mutual protection against persons willfully negligent
in the payment of their accounts. About 30 business men belong to the or-
ganization. Officers: C. A. Wheeler, president; T. S. Thomas, treasurer;
Oscar Underwood, secretary.
CUBA GAS COMPANY.--This was organized early in 1884 with capital
stock of $50,000. This company furnishes natural gas for fuel and lighting
purposes from wells in Clarksville and Wirt. This village is largely warmed
and lighted by gas obtained from this company. J. B. Bradley of Bolivar is
its president, and Harry Bradley of Wellsville, secretary. The office in
Cuba is in charge of A. C. Fisher.
The Cuba Marble and Granite Works were established in 1857 by William
H. and Alonzo C. Bartholomew, brothers. Ten years later the partnership
was dissolved, A. C. Bartholomew moving to Titusville, Pa., where he died
in March, 1877. William H then conducted the works alone, was burned
out twice, the last time in 1881. All kinds of monumental and cemetery
work are designed, of both marble and granite. The late proprietor was
identified with the business over 45 years until his death in September,
1892. Edward O'Malley then became the proprietor and carries on the
business at the same location.
Aekerly, Sill & Co. In 1871 Daniel B. Sill, Hosea B. Ackerly and An-
drew J. Ackerly came from Rushford to Cuba and began buying cheese.
Later they took up the lumber business, forming the company with O. T.
Higgins, under firm name of Ackerly, Sill & Co., which has always been re-
tained although Mr. Higgins sold out in 1885. In 1886 they consolidated the
cheese and lumber business, doing all under one name. The lumber trade
has included operations in various parts of this state as well as in Pennsyl-
vania and Michigan. In 1886 they bought the old Smith mill which was
burned in 1888, but was soon rebuilt larger, and with better machinery.
Now it is equipped with all kinds of wood-working machinery and is one of
the best plants of the kind in this part of the state. They rank among the
largest cheese buyers in the state and annually save thousands of dollars to
the farmers of Western New York by their direct purchase from the fac-
tories. They have opened new markets for New York cheese, especially
throughout the South. Their trade with individual customers, small hand-
lers and jobbers as well, ranges from five to 5,000 boxes a week. To their
cheese and lumber trade they have added salt and coal, handling the finest
grades of dairy salt, and the standard coals. Their cold storage building
is described on another page. They have wire connections, and a switch of
the W. N. Y. & P., in their yard.
J. M. Barnes & Co. began manufacturing cutters, sleighs, buggies
wagons, etc., in 1881. This has grown to be one of Cuba's large industries,
which has employed from 25 to 30 men steadily and has produced from 1,200
to 2,500 cutters and sleighs in a year and from 200 to 300 wagons. The
buildings are located near the bridge on West Main street. The main build-
ing contains 21,400 feet of flooring and is three stories high standing 160x40
feet. There is another building known as No.2, which is 40x80 feet and is
two stories high, containing 6,400 feet of flooring. There is also a black-
smith shop which occupies 2,000 feet of flooring.
Phelps & Sibley's Merchant Flouring & Feed Mills.--The firm of Phelps &
Sibley began business May 1, 1884, the members being Warren O. Phelps
and Frank B. Sibley. Mr. Phelps had, at the time, nearly completed a brick
flouring mill closely adjacent to the station of the W. N. Y. & P. railroad and
the new firm at once began milling operations here. Since 1884 additions
have been made and the plant now consists of a three storied building, 40 by
60 feet in size, with a brick addition containing an 80 H. P. engine and boiler
which supplies the motive power of the mill. This mill has a grinding
capacity of 150 bbls. of flour and 70 tons of meal every 24 hours. Connected
with the mill is a frame elevator with storage room for 25,000 bu. of grain.
The lower part of this elevator was formerly the frame of the canal ware-
house which stood on the south side of the canal, opposite the railroad station.
On the site of this mill once stood another mill, owned and operated by
Russell Smith, which was burned. In 1891 Phelps & Sibley purchased the
site of the old Chamberlain & Kirkpatrick mill on Mill St. near the Erie rail-
road, which was erected in 1844 and burned in 1878. Here they built a
second mill, of wood, with a grinding capacity of 48 tons of meal and feed in
24 hours, and a storage capacity equal to 75 carloads of grain. This is a
water and steam power mill, deriving its water power from the original
head-race of the burned mill. The record of the business of these mills
shows a gradual increase each year, principally in the wholesale trade.
Using the first year 103 cars of western grain, the past year required 800
cars, and 20 employees to handle the product. This increase has required
additional grinding and storage capacity, which they have met by building
in a solid and substantial manner as the extending trade demanded, until
now they have the largest storage capacity of any like concern in Western
New York. The brick flouring mill has two switches on the W. N. Y. & P.
railroad leading to its doors. The water and steam power mill, on the Erie
836 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
railroad, has switches running directly into the third floor, with room for
five cars under cover at the same time, to facilitate loading and unloading.
In erecting these mills it has been the aim and study of the proprietors to
build them so that they can handle their product with the greatest economy.
With this end in view they have utilized both water and steam for power and
adopted various labor saving devices for handling grain, feed and flour,
believing that whoever could supply the trade with promptness and with
the least expense, would command the best patronage.
The business of the W. A. Bates M'f'g Co. was established in 1886 by
W. A. Bates to manufacture tin-lined butter tubs, etc. He commenced work
with 3 men. From 1889 to 1893 the firm was Bates & Hoyt. Since then
Mr. Bates has been sole proprietor. The factory located on Water street
gives employment to 30 hands, used 300,000 feet of hard wood in 1894 and
made over 140,000 oil cans and butter pails. This is the largest manufactory
of these goods in the United States, the buildings of the plant covering an
acre of ground. Mr. Bates is the inventor and patentee of the goods made,
and also of the machinery used to produce them.
Peck's Marble Works, located on Bristol street, were established by Allen
Peck in 1894. G. W. Peck manager.
The City Steam Laundry was established in 1890 by B. A. Hammond.
In March, 1893, the present proprietor, Frank A. Hicks, purchased the
The Cuba foundry, machine shop and cider mill is owned and conducted
by A. H. Graves.
Goodrich & Conderman's steam granite works were established in 1894.
CHEESE BUYERS: Ackerly, Sill & Co., George H. Harris & Co. and
Demcey & Sibley are large operators and dealers in cheese.
MERCHANTS. Dry Goods, etc.--George H. Eldridge has been in mer-
chandising since 1865, first as a grocer, then as a dealer in clothing and as
drygoods merchants since 1867. In 1876 he erected his present store, a
two-story brick building, and carries a full stock of drygoods, cloaks, car-
pets, boots, shoes, etc. He has on the north side of East Main street one of the
most complete department stores in all this section. Orris Merrill has been in
business since 1858. He was in trade when a $10 license was necessary to do
business. December 12, 1891, the firm of Orris Merrill & Co., was established.
In 1884 C. A. Wheeler engaged in the grocery business on Main and South Sts.
In 1889 he established his drygoods store at No. 5 Palmer block, West Main St.
Clothing.--A. Unger, M. A. Cofran (succeeding Boston Clothing Co.) in the
store lately occupied by A. M. Young & Co. Grocers. A. D. Hatch com-
menced trade in 1884, in 1894 with N. T. Guilford formed the present firm of
Hatch & Guilford. O. D. and A. E. Underwood, as Underwood Bros., suc-
ceeded A. A. Arnold in 1893. G. H. Brooks has been in trade here since
since 1885. E. A. Enos Parlor grocery, Wasson Block. Jewelry and Clothing.-
W: F. Robie, proprietor of The Odd, No. 5, East Main St., commenced trade in
November, 1890, in the Story block, soon removing to his present location
in the Stevens Block. Jewelry and Crockery. --T. F. Rude, corner South and
Main, in trade since 1869. Farm Implements, etc.--Grant Ingalls. Millinery.
--Mrs. A. A. Colwell, Mrs. M. R. Rice, Mrs. M. L. Quinn. News and Gro-
ceries.--C. A. DeKay.
Hardware, Stoves, etc.--Sisson & Ackerlys. (B. G. Sisson, C. A. and W.
B. Ackerly) succeeded Mr. Sisson in the hardware trade in January, 1891.
The present stand was started by H. A. Mead, and the successive owners
have been Mr. Wilcox, Perry & Pettit, Pettit Brothers, Crippen & Ackerlys,
Hermance & Sisson, Gideon Sisson, Jr., B. G. Sisson and Sisson & Acker-
lys, which also succeeded the Pettit Hardware Co. They deal in general
hardware and agricultural implements. They have two stores, on West
Main street and on Genesee street. J. G. Olive has a hardware store on
West Main street.
Furniture.--The Cook Furniture Company was organized in June, 1892,
from G. W. Cook & Co. The business was started in Cuba in 1881. F. L.
Cook is manager. C. S. Hicks, East Main street. Druggists.--Allen &
Thomas; A. A. Lawrence. Boots and Shoes. Webster & Horan, Wasson
Block, East Main street, A. J. Phillips (in 1894 succeeded Wm. F. Sharp,
who was in trade since the war). Undertaking.--Arnout & Sons, A. A.
Gail. Pianos, Organs, etc.--A. J. Van Fleet in his own brick block corner
East Main and Orchard. There are two photographers and various other
industries. Six telephones are in use, and the two railroads have abund-
ant facilities for freight and passenger traffic.
SOCIETIES: Cuba Lodge, No. 426, F. & A. M.--The charter for this lodge
bears date Jan. 8, 1825, and was granted by the grand lodge of the state
of New York which had been regularly established according to old
constitutions and under the auspices of Prince Edwin of the city of York,
England, in the year of masonry, 4726), to Brother Calvin T. Chamberlain,
W. M.; Brother Stephen Cady, S. W.; Brother Henry Stephens, J. W.;
Martin Smith, Laurin Woodruff, Jonathan Moore, Levi Robinson, Earl Gould,
Jacob Baldwin, Erastus Kinney, William Hicks, Kendall Wilder, Richard
Bronson, Ira Tracy, Henry Stevens and Simon C. Moore. From Jan. 17,
1832, to June 11, 1853, the lodge was discontinued, and at the latter date a
new charter was granted, and the lodge re-organized with the new number
306, and Henry Stevens as W. M., I. B. Sharp as S. W., Warner Hastings as
J. W. and C. T. Chamberlain as secretary and treasurer. The other charter
members were, Martin Smith, Talcott Howard, Simon C. Moore, Joseph
Palmer, S. G. Newell, Stephen Hardy, John Powers, Erastus Kinney, Jacob
Baldwin, Samuel M. Russell, S. W. Merrill and C. H. Bradley. Regular com-
munications are held on the second and fourth Saturdays in each month.
The membership is large, and the lodge is in a flourishing condition. The
present officers are, J. E. Dewey, W. M.; F. N. Mallison, S. W.; John E.
Dudley, J. W.; Edwin A. Bartle, treasurer, Frank B. Sibley, secretary.
838 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
Valley Point Chapter, No. 232, R. A. M. The charter of this chapter bears
date February 3, 1869. The first officers installed under this charter were:
Simon P. Swift, H. P.; Henry Friendly, K.; Gabriel Bishop, S.; L. F. Law-
ton, treasurer; H. J. Swift, secretary; William H Bartholomew, C. H.; R.
H. Moses, P. S.; William H. Holmes, R. A. C.; A. D. Crosby, M. 3d V.; S.
B. Bostwick, M. 2d V.; I. R. Harbeck, M. 1st V.; George W. Durfee, tiler.
Every second and fourth Thursday in each month occur the regular convo-
cations. The present officers are: E. D. Loveridge, H. P.; A. A. Arnold, K.;
Monroe Clayson, S.; J. E. Dewey, Treas.; E. H. Keller, Sec.; Don McClure,
P. S.; S. H. Morgan, C. H.; J. E. Dewey, R. H. C.; S. B. Bostwick, M. 3d
V.; J. R. Harbeck, M. 2d V.; Lawson Paul, M. 1st V.
Valley Point Lodge, No. 241, I. 0. 0. F., was organized July 8, 1870,
with W. R. Bronson, F. G. Stebbins, H. Shewmau, W. W. Cole and W. P.
Stevens as charter members. The first N. G. was W. R. Bronson, and suc-
cessive ones down to 1879 were, W. W. Cole, F. G. Stebbins, A. F. DeKay,
E. R. Nash, R. H. Grady, H. Shewman, W. C. Hall, D. B. Whipple, J. A.
Grove, E. R. Nash, J. Byram, J. H. Graham, H. C. Hendricks, J. McMonagle,
G. M. Gillette, G. V. DeKay, and D. Reid. In 1879 it was said to be flourish-
ing and financially prosperous, with a membership of 30, but interest waned
and it was discontinued, to be revived and reorganized with a new number.
It is now exceptionally prosperous.
Cuba Lodge, No. 691, I. 0. 0. F., was organized January 31, 1894, the
present officers are: T. M. Shafer, N. G.; L. L. Brown, P. G.; H. K. Marsh,
V G.; J. E. Dewey, Sec.; D. C. Smith, Per. Sec.; A. Unger, Treas.; B. H.
Shearer, Warden; Burt Scott, Con.; W. A. Bates, R. S. N. G.; W. H. Clapp,
L. S. N. G.; C. J. Moses, R. S. V. G.; J. F. Olive, L. S. V. G.; W. J. Beech-
er, R. S. S.; F. A. Loveridge, L.; R. R. Lockwood, I. G.; J. T. Moses, O. G.;
F. W. Westford, Chap. Membership about 100.
Orient Encampment, No. 53, I. 0. 0. F., was removed from Wellsville in
July, 1895. The officers are: George Lutzie, C. P.; D. C. Smith, H. P.; L.
L. Brown, S. W.; J. E. Dewey, Scribe; O. D. Hammond, Treas.; T. M. Sha-
fer, J. W.; B. H. Shearer, 1st W.; W. H. Clapp, 2d W.; E. L. Hicks, 3d W.;
F. A. Loveridge, 4th W.; J. M. Sullivan, 1st G. of T.; G. W. Cook, 2d G. of
T.; F. W. Westford, I. S.; Charles Little, O. S.
Cuba Lodge, No. 78, A. 0. U. W.-This lodge of the Ancient Order of
United Workmen was organized March 7, 1877, with 20 charter members.
It has been a fairly successful lodge; and the present officers are: J. M..
Sullivan, master; F. B. Sibley, foreman; E. A. Bartlett, recorder; A. A.
Gail, financier; C. H. Enos, receiver.
Stephen T. Bartle Post, No. 183, G. A. R., was organized Oct. 25, 1880, with
14 members. The commanders have been: W. H. Withey, 1880; H. J. Swift,
1881,'82, '83; C. H. Miner, 1884, '85; A. S. Thompson, 1886; R. H. Grady,
1887; E. O'Malley, 1888; C. Miner, 1889, '90, '91; F. J. Ehman, 1892; S. K.
Ford, 1893; F. B. Brown, 1894; A. S. Thompson, 1895. Present member
ship 82. A strong Ladies' Relief Corps is a loyal aid to the Post.
Cuba Grange, P. of H., No. 799, holds regular meetings semi-monthly in
G. A. R. Hall.
A Tent of K. O. T. M. was organized in 1885, with 15 charter members.
Present membership 140. A "Hive " of L. O. T. M. was organized in June,
1893. There is a lodge No. 553 of Knights of Honor. Cuba Union, No. 47, E.
A. U. The I. O. G. T. have had seasons of prosperity and adversity. Of
other organizations some have surrendered their charters, while others
have been successful.
The Cuba Circulating Library.--This library was established in 1873
through the efforts of Rev. L. P. Blackford and Mr. J. C. Seely, as a stock
company, many of the leading citizens of the village and town becoming stock-
holders. In 1879 the number of volumes was about 700. The number at
present is 1,600, and the books are well chosen and standard works. The
trustees are E. D. Loveridge, Geo. H. Eldridge, S. C. Swift, F. L. Charles,
Mrs. L. W. Sheldon, A. A. Lawrence and C. A. Ackerly. The present offi-
cers are: Geo. H. Eldridge, president; H. C. Morgan, treasurer; F. B. Sib-
ley, secretary; and Mrs. R. S. Armstrong, librarian.
Shakespeare Amateurs and Shakespeare Club.--The pioneer ladies' club of
Cuba is the " Shakespeare Amateurs," organized in September, 1887, with
these officers: Mary Helen Watrous, president; Lena Todd, secretary;
Maude Whipple, treasurer; Mrs. Christina H. Charles, critic; Adele Rafter,
1st teller; Florence Thompson, 2d teller. The present officers are, Lena
Todd, president; Lurale Bartlett, vice-president; Mae Smith, treasurer;
Mrs. Christina H. Charles, critic. From its organization, this club has al-
ways, from September till July, every Wednesday evening at 7 o'clock, met
with Mrs. Christiana H. Charles (the mother of the club and its patroness).
Membership 20. In October, 1887, the " Shakespeare Club " was organized.
Mrs. Christina Howell Charles and Mrs. Harriet W. Armstrong were the
chief promoters. Its objects are "the pursuit of Shakespearian study, as a
means of intellectual improvement and literary culture, and to stimulate
intellectual development." The active membership is 20. The first officers
were: president, Mrs. Christina Howell Charles; secretary, Mrs. Harriet
W. Armstrong; treasurer, Mrs. Elizabeth W. Sheldon. The present officers
are, Mrs. Christina H. Charles, president; Mrs. Albert Arnold, vice-presi-
dent; Mrs. Albert Lawrence, recording secretary; Mrs. Rufus Eldridge,
corresponding secretary; Mrs. Newton Sheldon, treasurer; Mrs. Harriet
W. Armstrong, critic.
The advantages of Cuba are very neatly summed up as follows by Edit-
or Coad in the Cuba Post:
Six churches. Population, 3,000. Two newspapers.
Three first-class hotels. An excel-
lent steam laundry. Natural gas for fuel and lights. Enterprising, live business men. Hand-
some, shady and well kept streets. Local and long distance telephone service. Opera house
with seating capacity for 700. Excellent railway service and shipping facilities. One of the
finest gravity water systems in the state. Two first-class banks-First National and Cuba Na-
tional. One of the best Union Schools in the state, with a corps of eight teachers. One of the
840 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
best Fair Grounds in Western New York, with
an A No. 1 mile track. A volunteer fire depart-
ment equal to the best; three active companies, and first-class apparatus. Steam roller flour
mills, large gristmill, butter package factory, cutter and wagon factory, large sawmills, three plan-
ing mills, new cold storage building, foundry and machine shop, bicycle works, three livery sta-
bles,two creameries. The Cuba Temperance Assembly--the assembly grounds being located at
the south side of the village--draws, from all over this section, thousands of visitors annually.
The assembly is held for one week, during the month of August, at which those who attend
are privileged to listen to some of the best platform speakers in the United States, and the
musical program is fully equal to the oratory. The grounds are delightful, and the large cov-
ered auditorium seats over 2,000 people. Cuba is one of the prettiest villages in Western New
York. Located on the lines of the Erie and W. N. Y. & P. railroads, every facility for trans-
portation is offered. Adjacent to that beautiful sheet of water--Lake Cuba,--blessed with a
healthy and invigorating atmosphere, and possessed of one of the most famous and health-
giving sulphur springs, Cuba is a favorite place of summer resort for an ever-increasing num-
ber of visitors. As seen from the Erie railway, which encircles three-fourths of the village,
Cuba is one of the prettiest little towns between New York and Dunkirk.
OF CUBA'S CITIZENS.--Albert A. Arnold, son
of Gilbert and Meletiah (Webser) Arnold
was born at Peoria, Ill., April 16, 1846, and, after his father's death (October, 1847), he came
with his mother in 1848 to Rushford. About 1850 they settled near the reservoir in Cuba. Mrs.
Arnold died in 1879. Albert A. Arnold, once a poor boy with a widowed mother dependent on
him, is truly a self-made man, and has accumulated a competence. Educated at Rushford Acade-
my, he came, in April, 1870, to Cuba and began clerking. He purchased the " Old Corner Gro-
cery " lot and building, July 1, 1874, but could not get possession to go into business until Feb.
1, 1881, when he bought out L. N. Stevens. Oct. 8, 1883, Mr. Arnold was burned out, losing
over $1,200. In 1885 he erected the fine Arnold block in which he conducted grocery trade
until recently. In this b ock are located the postofflce, W. U. telegraph office, several stores
and offices. At his own expense ($1,500) Mr. Arnold put in the handsome Yale & Towne
postoffice outfit in Cuba. He has been village trustee six years and assessor as long. He was
one of the prime movers (when trustee) to secure for the village the present village water sys-
tem. He is an Odd Fellow and a Freemason, and is a member of St. Johns Commandery,
Olean. Mr. Arnold married, Nov. 2. 1875, Pamelia, youngest daughter of William and Eme-
line (Wasson) Bennett, who was born at Hinsdale, educated at Friendship Academy, and taught
school several terms. They have one child, Florence R.
George Amsden was born in Belfast Jan. 2, 1837. His father, Isaac, born in Madison Co.
in 1806, died in May, 1890. He came to Belfast in 1835, to Cuba in 1837, and settled on the
Wm. Jackson farm on Jackson Hill. He married, first, Cynthia Webster of Madison Co., who
died in 1839. Their children were Oscar H., Arvilla, Mahala (Mrs. C. H. Morgan) and George.
Mr. Amsden married, second, Mary J. McIntosh of Belfast. Their children were Cynthia,
Mary J. and Charles. The third wife of Mr. Amsden was Louisa Bishop of Rushford. Chil-
dren: Frank and Ira. In 1889 he married, fourth, Victoria Renwick. George Amsden, when
two years old, on his mother's death, went to live with Henry Kinney of North Cuba. Mr.
Kinney was born Oct. 14, 1808, married Philinda Webster Sept. 17, 1839, and died April 7,
1878. Mrs. Kinney, born July 21, 1813, died May 27, 1882. George Amsden married, Jan. 2,
1860, Martha, daughter of Washington and Matilda (Torrey) Johnson of New Hudson, and
soon located on his present farm. He had before this operated various cheese factories in
Cuba. Mrs. Amsden was born at Attica, N. Y., Oct. 5, 1839. Their children are Ophelia, Alva
and Roy. Mr. Amsden was one of the organizers of the North Cuba Oil Co. in 1891. A well
was drilled on his farm for 1,500 feet but no oil found. A vein of gas was struck at 912 feet,
which was piped to his residence which it supplied with heat, etc.
Verne W. Alexander, D. D. S., son of Nelson Alexander, was born in New Hudson April
11, 1872. He was graduated from the dental department of Vanderbilt University of Nash-
ville, Tenn., in 1891. After a short stay in Franklinville, Pa., and Belfast, he located in Cuba
in 1894. He is a member of Allegany County Dental Association, of Cuba Lodge, I. 0. 0. F.
No. 691, F. & A. M. No. 306, and K. O. T. M. Tent No. 12.
Milo Fannin Baldwin, son of Jacob and Elizabeth (York) Baldwin, was born May 19, 1816,
at Henrietta, Monroe Co. Jacob Baldwin came to Cuba (then Friendship) in 1818 and his
family in 1820. He, with Stephen Cady, built a sawmill in 1818 and a gristmill in 1820 or '21
at North Cuba. These they operated 5 or 6 years, when Mr. Baldwin took the sawmill and Mr.
Cady the gristmill. No trace of either of these mills now remain but the millstones. Mr.
Baldwin always kept tavern until within a few years of his death, which occurred in April, 1857.
One of his taverns was widely known as "The Buck Horn," from a huge pair of buck's horns
hung in front of the hostelry. Mrs. Jacob Baldwin died in 1875. The children of Jacob and
Elizabeth (York) Baldwin were Milo F., Jeremiah, Ezra S., Fanny M., Amanda M., Lucretia,
Converse and Julia L. Milo F. Baldwin early became engaged in lumbering, running rafts
down the Allegany and Ohio rivers, continuing this business more or less all his life. He was
always a farmer, and as a real-estate dealer handled many farms in the town. He was justice
of the peace two terms, constable, poormaster, and collector. December 30, 1874, he married
Emily Willey of Cuba. Mr. Baldwin was a Democrat in politics and liberal in religious belief.
He was a Freemason and an Odd Fellow. He resided in the hamlet of North Cuba, and died
March 1, 1895.
George Wilson Baldwin, son of Lonson and Sally (Conant) Baldwin, was born Feb. 8,
1839, on his farm at North Cuba, where his great-grandfather, Phineas Baldwin, was one of
the earliest settlers. His grandfather, Anslem, a farmer, came to Cuba from Henrietta, N. Y.,
in 1829. His children were Lonson, Celestia, Rebecca, James L. and Ansel (enlisted during
the civil war in the 85th N. Y., Co. F, died and was buried at Plymouth, N. C.) Lonson Bald-
win and Sally Conant were married Jan. 9, 1838, and celebrated their "golden wedding" in
1888. Their children are George W., Orson A., Louise (Mrs. C. H. Morgan), Stella and
Irene Sophia (adopted). George W. Baldwin enlisted in 1862 in Co. A, 136th N.Y. Vols., was
in 15 engagements, was wounded at Averysboro, N. C., March 16. 1865, was discharged for
disability after three years service, and is now a pensioner. The ball he received at Averysboro
still remains in his left ankle, the surgeons having failed to extract it. Since the war he has
been a farmer on 200 of the 800 acres purchased by his grandfather of the Holland Land Co.
William A. Bates, son of Abner, was born in Olean in 1856 and in 1861 accompanied his
father to Chicago where he was educated in the public schools. In 1869 the family came to
Cuba when Abner engaged in carriage manufacturing. William learned the tinsmith trade
and in 1886 established the manufacturing industry which under his management has grown to
large proportions (see industries). Mr. Bates is the inventor and patentee not only of the vari-
ous goods manufactured, but also of the different kinds of machinery used to manufacture the
goods. Since 1891 Mr. Bates has been chief of the Cuba Fire Department and a member
since 1873, has been foreman of Rescue fire company for eight years and is captain of the
Whipple Hose Company's running team. In 1891 Mr. Bates married Miss Lillie Cole.
William Currier, son of Joseph and Mary Currier, was born in Corinth, Vt., Oct. 30, 1812.
His parents settled in Holland, Erie county, in 1816, and, as William was the oldest child, and
as his folks were poor, he had to work at anything he could find to do to support the family and
had in all only about 3 months' schooling. He however chopped over 100 acres of heavy tim-
ber and cleared up 50 acres of it, besides his work for others. Nov. 18, 1833, he married Julia
Ann Babcock in China, N. Y., settled on Townsend Hill in Concord, Erie Co., and learned
blacksmithing. March 9, 1841, he moved to Cuba and worked at his trade till 1849, when ill
health prevented steady continuance at it, and in 1851 he opened a grocery store which he con-
ducted 9 years. In January, 1861, he moved to Clarksville and was a farmer until Aug. 27,
1873, when, moving again to Cuba, he rebuilt his house and barn that had been burned, and
engaged in manufacturing and selling picture frames for 15 years, and later went into the bak-
ery business. He has been a Freemason for 40 years, being the first person initiated in Cuba
Lodge, No. 306, F. & A. M., after its re-organization. His first wife died April 19, 1856, and
Oct. 26, 1856, he married Mrs. A. Searle. His six children by his first wife are dead. Mr. and
Mrs. Currier are members of the Universalist church.
Justin E. Dewey was born at Honeoye, June 7, 1853. He was graduated from the Gene-
seo Normal School in 1876, and afterwards took a course at Chautauqua College. He has
since been engaged in teaching. He taught 2 years at Belfast, 9 years at Limestone, and has
been principal of Cuba High School since 1888. In 1878 he married Grace Flinn of Belfast.
Mr. Dewey is a member of Cuba Lodge, No. 306, F. & A. M., (serving as master for the 3d
year,) Valley Point Chapter and St. John's Commandery of Olean. He is a member of the I.
O. O. F., No. 691, is a noble grand of this order, state Lieut. Com. of K. 0. T. M., a member
of Cuba Tent, No. 12, supreme representative of E. A. U., scribe of Orient Encampment, No.
53, and treasurer of Y. M. C. A.
842 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y
Franklin Jeremiah Burdick, son of Jeremiah and Rachel (Fletcher) Burdick, was born in
Cortland Co., May 7, 1819. Jeremiah Burdick came to Bolivar in 1830 and lived there until
his death in 1873. He owned and operated a gristmill. His children were Franklin J., Susan,
Henry, Melvin, Oramel, Otis, Dwight, Emily, Rachel and Billings. Franklin J. Burdick re-
moved to Angelica about 1856, thence to Amity, and in 1888 came to Cuba and settled on his
present farm north of the village. In 1840 he married Mary, daughter of William and Phebe
(Scofield) Wilson, of Angelica, and their children are Helen Josephine and Alba Elton. Mrs.
Burdick died in Amity. Mr. Burdick is a blacksmith by trade.
William Campbell, son of Rufus R. and Hannah (Post) Campbell, was born on his pres-
ent farm in North Cuba, June 10, 1833. Robert, father of Rufus R., came from Pompey, N.
Y., to Cuba in 1821. Two of his sons, James M. and Dillon, came in 1822. Rufus R. Camp-
bell was a justice of the peace and a surveyor many years. He died in 1847. Robert Camp-
bell died about 1839; his wife died in Onondaga Co. The family is of Scotch-Irish extraction.
Rufus R. Campbell and Hannah Post were married Oct. 19, 1829. Children: Lucien, born
May 29, 1831; William; Lydia A., born May 29, 1835; Erastus C., born Jan. 9, 1838; Darius
E., born Feb. 18, 1841 ; Edwin O., born June 15, 1844. Lucien, William and Lydia are living.
William Campbell attended Alfred Academy, taught school 1 year in Kentucky and 3 winters
in Cuba. He has been poormaster 1 year, road commissioner 2 years and assessor 10 years.
He married, first, Oct. 6, 1857, Emeline A., daughter of Ammi and Mary (Pratt) Carrier, of
Cuba. They had one child, Ammi Rufus. His second wife, Helen P., daughter of Erastus
and Eleanor (Campbell) Webster, he married June 2, 1878. Mr. Campbell is a strong Repub-
lican, and with his family attends the Presbyterian church.
John F. Coad was born at Woodstock, Canada, in 1863. He was educated at Upper
Canada College at Toronto. In 1884 he came to Cuba and was local editor of the Cuba Pa-
triot for 8 years, and for 2 years was local editor of the Ithaca Democrat. Jan. 1, 1895, he
became editor and manager of the Genesee Valley Post, published at Cuba, and March 20,
1896, became sole proprietor of the Post. He married, Feb. 1, 1894, Caroline G. Park. His
father, James Coad, came to Cuba in 1881 and engaged in the furniture business.
Sandford Stoddard Cole, only child of John B. and Sophia (Stoddard) Cole, was born
March 2, 1846, in Ledyard, Conn. John B. Cole came to Cuba from Rhode Island in 1833 and
settled on a farm in the east part of the town. His brother Joseph came at this time, and his
brother Stephen W., who came previously, was a civil engineer, and assisted in surveying the
route for the Erie Railroad through Cuba. (See Friendship.) Mrs. John B. Cole died in 1856,
and Mr. Cole married, second, Abby C. Wheeler. He died January 1, 1882. Sandford S. Cole
attended Friendship Academy. He has always been a farmer, and has bought and sold cheese.
June 27, 1872, he married Kate J., daughter of Truman Ives, of Salisbury, Herkimer Co. She
died in May, 1873, and Mr. Cole married September 14, 1874, Clara S., daughter of Ahira and
Susan Eldridge. Children: Kate, John B., Stephen W., Hattie, George S., Mary and Emma.
John B. Cole, Sr., was for some time a stockholder in the Cuba State (now National) Bank,
which interest is now held by Sandford S.
George H. Eldridge, son of Ahira A. and Susan (Hatch) Eldridge, was born in Greenville,
Bond Co., Ill., July 26, 1838. After a residence of 3 years in Jackson county, Ark., he removed
to Friendship in December, 1852, where he made his residence until September, 1868, when he
moved to Cuba. He enlisted in Co. K, 136th N. Y. Inf., as first lieutenant and was promoted
through the various positions to that of major, being honorably discharged June 25, 1865. Mr.
Eldridge married, May 19, 1868. Frances Colwell of Cuba. Their children are Rufus C., George
C., Alice C. (Mrs. Lawrence) and Frances Colwell Eldridge. Mr. Eldridge has been in mer-
chandizing since 1865, first as a grocer then as a dealer in clothing and as a drygoods merchant
since 1867. In 1876 he erected his present store, a two-story brick building, and carries a full
stock of drygoods, cloaks, carpets, boots, shoes, etc. He has one of the most complete de-
partment stores in all this section. Mr. Eldridge was postmaster 10 years under Andrew John-
son and Gen. Grant's administration. He has held no elective offices, but has served his town
as trustee in different interests. He was secretary of Cuba Fair and Cuba Temperance Assem-
bly, president of the Library Association, is director and president of the First National Bank
of Cuba. He has been in touch with all advance movements, in business, in moral and in
Christian circles. He is prominently connected with the Cuba Temperance Camp Meeting, has
been one of the chief anti-liquor men of Cuba, and an owner of the Prohibition newspaper.
He is a "live" business man, and his store is one of the model ones of the county.
Isaac Failing, born in Oppenheim, N. Y., Sept. 16, 1824, is a son of Peter J. and Phebe
(Starks) Failing. He came to Hume in 1840, and worked at farming and later at blacksmith-
ing, and owned a shop on the bank of the creek opposite the gristmill in Hume. About 4 years
later he conducted the L. H. Sweet farm and then engaged in lumbering. In 1852 he pur-
chased the northeast farm in Rushford, removed to it, and in 1856 sold it and bought a farm of
250 acres in New Hudson. In 1870 be came to Cuba village and his present home, and has
dealt in farm implements, carts, carriages, etc. He has been overseer of the poor for several
years in Cuba. Mr. Failing married, March 8, 1851, Charlotte M. Couch. They had one child,
who died young. He married, second, Dec. 24, 1891, Allena M., daughter of William Snyder
of Bradford, Pa. Mr. Failing has retired from active business, and, with his wife, enjoys his
pleasant home on Main street.
Giles Frederick Gallup, son of Joseph and Abby A. (Dennison) Gallup, was born in Cuba
April 21, 1843, on the farm now owned by Jefferson G. Halsted, where Joseph Gallup settled
when he came to Cuba about 1839. He died in May, 1887. His wife is still living. Their
children were Oscar, Ellen, Frances, Gurdon, Charlotte, Elizabeth, Giles F., Emma and Charles.
Oscar, Gurdon and Charles Gallup enlisted and served as soldiers in the civil war. Charles was
wounded and died in the hospital at Philadelphia. Giles F. Gallup moved to his present farm
in 1859. He married, Oct. 3, 1865, Mary Eliza, daughter of Jabez Green of Cuba. Their
children are Charles, Grace, Nellie, Carrie and Abby. The family is much respected.
John Bruce Giles, son of George O. and Jane Hayford Giles, was born in Farmersville May
10, 1856. He is a graduate of the Ten Broeck Academy. In 1877 Mr. Giles went to Lime-
stone and clerked for Bell Bros. 3 years, and for 2 years had charge of their store in Coleville.
He then became a partner in the firm of Bell Bros. & Giles at Carrollton, where they did a
business of $61,000 the first year. After 3 years he sold his interest, and January 13, 1885,
opened a general store at Clarksville, and January 15, 1887, his store was burned, and 4 days
after his insurance money was paid, and he was doing business in another store. In 1888 he
went to McComb, Ohio, kept a general store and dealt in livestock, hay, grain, etc. In 1891 he
came to Cuba and was in company with E. Adams in a general store. In 1892 Mr. Adams
sold out and the firm of Giles & Swift continued till 1896. Mr. Giles was postmaster and town
clerk in Clarksville, is a member of Cuba Lodge No. 306, F. & A. M., since 1892 has been
finance keeper of Star Tent, No. 12, K. O. T. M., is receiver for E. K. O. R. lodge of Cuba.
October 10, 1884, he married Helen M., daughter of G. D. Swift, and has 2 children, DeAlton
and Loraine. George DeAlton Swift, son of Truman, was born in Rushford about 1830. He
married Mary Lewis. Their children were Helen (Mrs. J. B. Giles) and Arlomine (Mrs. Benja-
min Lee of McComb, Ohio). In 1858 Mr. Swift settled in Cuba and was in merchandising
several years. He died July 6, 1870. His widow resides in Cuba.
William J. Glenn, son of Jefferson C., was born in Dansville, Livingston Co., July 2, 1862,
and educated at Wellsville academy. In September, 1879, he went into the office of the Alle-
gany County Reporter, and remained there three years. About this time he married Miss Jes-
sie A., daughter of Dwight and Mary (Dunham) Goodrich. They have two children. Jan. 1,
1883, he, with W. J. Beecher, purchased the Cuba Patriot of W. J. Stebbins. In 1887 Mr.
Beecher withdrew, Mr. Glenn taking as partner S. C. Swift. The paper was continued under
the name of W. J. Glenn & Co. Mr. Glenn was also partner with S. C. Swift in the Genesee
Valley nurseries. He was appointed postmaster at Cuba, April 15, 1889, by President Harri-
son, and retained the position until March, 1894. In 1886 he was elected secretary and treas-
urer of the Republican county committee and held that office four years. In 1890 he was
elected a member of the Republican state committee and has since held that office. Mr. Glenn
has taken active part in Allegany county politics, and been recognized as a leader of his party
for years. Under his leadership the party has grown stronger, and it might be said that for
eight years he has named every officer that has been elected. He put a stop to the old practice
of candidates having to buy their nominations. At the Republican state convention held at
Saratoga Springs, Sept. 16, 1895, this resolution was adopted: " Resolved, That we unanimous-
ly indorse the candidacy of our fellow member, William J. Glenn, for doorkeeper of the house
of representatives of the fifty-fourth congress, and, for his long and faithful service to the party,
we are gratified to know that he is the unanimous choice of the Republican representatives of
this state." At the opening of Congress in December, 1895, Mr. Glenn was elected as door-
keeper of the National House of Representatives, a position which carries much influence. Mr.
Glenn is also proprietor of the Cuba Patriot.
Royal H. Grady, son of William Grady, a carpenter and builder, who came to Cuba from
Albany in 1834 and died in 1878, was born in Cuba Aug. 6, 1841. He learned the trade of
carpenter of his father, and has since been a contractor and builder. He married Augusta J.
Smith and had 6 children, 4 of whom are living. Mr. Grady enlisted in the 28th N. Y. as musi-
cian and served 15 months. He is a member of S. T. Bartle Post, No. 183, G. A. R., and
holds the office of adjutant; also secretary in Allegany County G. A. R. Association. He
has been president of the fire department several years, and is foreman of Rescue Hose Co. No.
1, also life member of the State Firemen's Association of New York.
Rev. James Griffin, son of Patrick and Jane (Holleran) Griffin, was born in West Almond,
Feb. 2, 1856. His education was acquired at the public schools and St. Bonaventure College
844 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
and Seminary, where he was graduated in 1882. He commenced ministrations at once at Rex-
ville, and after 7 months, in 1883 was stationed at Horseheads, and did excellent service there
until 1889 when he came to Cuba as pastor of the church of Our Lady of Angels, and had
charge also of the congregations at Bolivar and Friendship. June 21, 1895. he was called to
Bath to take charge of the important Catholic church at that place. His residence at Cuba was a
highly profitable one for the church. "As a pastor Father Griffin has been loved by his church
and as a citizen he has won respect." He was succeeded as pastor at Cuba by Rev. John J.
Charles Guilford, son of Samuel A. and Irene (Harrison) Guilford, was born in Friendship,
July 28, 1833, and his parents came to Cuba in the fall of 1833. His grandfather, Samuel Guil-
ford, came to Belfast with an ox and a horse team about 1820 from Ontario Co. with a large
family of children. Samuel A. Guilford for many years operated what was known as Smith' s
gristmill. He is now living with his son Charles. His wife died in May, 1869. Their children
were Charles, Roxa (Mrs. S. P. Swift), Anna M. (Mrs. O. S. Vreeland) and Rolla F. (dec).
Charles Guilford attended Alfred Academy and taught school two winters. He early began
life as a farmer and continued it as his vocation for many years. He was highway commissioner
in 1870, and supervisor in 1871, '72, '79, '80, '81 and '82. For five years he was president of
the Cuba Agricultural Society and for 16 years one of its directors. September 11, 1855, he
married Emma J., adopted daughter of A. M. Scott of Cuba, and their children are Roy (dec.),
Lizzie I. (dec.), Hattie M., C. Ross, Jennie (dec.), Harry, Simon and Olive. Mr. Guilford is lib-
eral in religious belief, and has always been a Republican.
Jefferson German Halsted, son of Theodore and Hannah (Hart) Halsted, was born June
13, 1826, in Cuba. His father removed there in 1824 or '25, and settled in the southeast part of
the town. Theodore Halsted was always a farmer and for awhile was engaged in lumbering,
and died here in 1867. He was prominent in town affairs. Jefferson G. Halsted resided on the
homestead farm until 1858, when he moved to his present farm. In August, 1851, he married
Frances A., daughter of Joseph and Abby Ann Gallup, of Cuba. (Mrs. Halsted was born in
Pennsylvania, Oct. 24,1833.) Their children were Sibyl, George H., Elizabeth A. (dec.), Charles
J., Fred M., Thomas J., J. Albert, Adella (dec.), Roxa (dec.), Stella, Emma Ann (dec.), and
Cora P. Mr. Halsted has been road commissioner and justice of the peace, and in 1892 was
excise commissioner. He is a firm Prohibitionist.
Francis Eugene Hammond, son of Horatio N. (born June 24, 1812), and Sophia L. (Ben-
nett) Hammond, was born in Rushford, June 9, 1841, on the farm where his mother was born
in 1815. Horatio N. came with his parents to Rushford from Cayuga county in 1814. His
father, John, born in Saratoga county was a surveyor and a Grand Master of the Masonic fra-
ternity of this state, and himself officiated in the marriage ceremony at Horatio's wedding.
The Bennetts were New Englanders. Francis E. Hammond was graduated from Rushford.
Academy in June, 1863, taught school from the age of 16 to 23. He has been an oil operator
since 1865, and for 15 years was an oil operator while living near Oil City, Pa. In 1880 he
made his home on his present farm in North Cuba. In 1892 he sold his oil interests in Pennsyl-
vania, retaining his Allegany county holdings. Mr. Hammond was supervisor in 1885, '86, '87
and '88. He was the first nominee made by the People's party for Congress in the 34th dis-
trict of New York, receiving over 2,000 votes. He married in September, 1867, Emma L.,
daughter of David and Lodensy (Butterfield) Scott of Cuba. Their children are Victor Hugo,
Virgil Scott (dec.), Eugene Lynn, Cleo Nelson, Haidee Florizel, Halley Waldo and Evangeline.
Lemuel Tryon Hendryx was born in Cuba, May 14, 1851. His grandfather, Nathan, born
in Georgetown, Madison county, in 1772, came to Cuba in 1835. He was a carpenter, and died
Feb. 21, 1858. He married Aminda Webber, born in 1791, died Feb. 19, 1872. His son,
James, born Aug. 28, 1820, at Woodstock, Madison county, came to Cuba with his parents. He
was a farmer and a staunch Democrat. He married, first, February, 1843, Cynthia, daughter
of Isaac Sibley of Cuba. They had one son, Albert Van Buren, born March 18, 1847. Mrs.
Cynthia Hendryx was born March 18, 1823, and died June 8, 1847. James Hendryx married,
second, June 18, 1850, Eunice, daughter of Lemuel and Lydia (Forbes) Tryon, born Jan. 21,
1825. She died Feb. 1, 1887. Their children were Lemuel T., Fred H., born Dec. 18, 1856,
died Sept. 11, 1879; Alberty, born Aug. 26, 1859, died Jan. 9, 1861; Winthrop C., born July 20.
1861; Daton Ellsworth, born Sept. 15, 1863, and Jay Gardner, born Nov. 10, 1865. James
Hendryx died at Cuba Oct. 25, 1875. Lemuel T. Hendryx was reared a farmer, and about
1870 began buying and shipping cattle, which business he has since followed. He has been
excise commissioner several years, and in politics is a Democrat. Dec. 20, 1870, he married
Anna E., daughter of Franklin and Martha (Hampton) Buckman. They have had no children.
Daton E. Hendryx married Rose Rock of Belfast, Oct. 27, 1885. He resides in Cuba. Jay G.
Hendryx married Ella Hill of Cuba, March 10, 1887. Children, Daton Frank, born Sept. 27,
1888, and George, born Feb. 13, 1890.
Sylvester John Ingalls, son of John W. and Elizabeth (Marshall) Ingalls, was born in Cuba
Jan. 15, 1835, on his present farm. John W. Ingalls (born Dec. 31, 1806) and Elizabeth Mar-
shall (born June 8, 1804, died Feb. 8, 1887), were married Sept. 1, 1828, and came to Cuba in
the winter and settled on the farm now owned by S. J. Ingalls. Their children were Hibbard
(dec.), Clementina, Amanda, Elizabeth M., Sylvester J., Frederick M., Orpha Jane (dec.), Charles
H.(dec.),Samuel H. (dec.),Oscar H. and Emma (dec.). Sylvester J. Ingalls married Oct. 24,1859,
Diana C., daughter of Daniel and Mary V. (Buell) Vaughan of New Hudson. She was born
June 28, 1829. Daniel Vaughan died in 1884, his wife Sept. 6, 1842. The children of S. J. In-
galls are Leon C. (married Nov. 26, 1889, Jessie Pugh and has children Earl C. and Edith E.),
Leason F. (married Nov. 4, 1886, Flora A. Sill,) Grant (married Oct. 27, 1892, Lottie Wakefield.
Child, Harry Floyd,) and Edith E. (married Oct. 17, 1886, George W. St. John of Illinois, who
has children Tracy G. and Leota E.). Mr. Ingalls is a prosperous farmer at North Cuba.
Samuel Ingalls and wife, Margaret Delmo, came from Canada to Cuba among the very
first settlers. Aaron Ingalls came about 1827 and settled on a farm adjoining Charles Guil
ford's. He died in February, 1886, and his wife in July, 1857. Their children were Philetus
D., Benjamin, Margaret M., Sally M. (dec.), Frank, Emma Jane and Ann Duain (dec.), twins,
Amelia O. and Mary (dec.).
Andrew and Christopher Keller, brothers, came from Georgetown, Pa., to Cuba about
1822, took up lots of wild land on what is now known as Keller Hill. Andrew Keller had 11
children, only one survives, Calvin of Portville. James Keller, son of Andrew, married Nancy
Wirt and settled on the old homestead farm and at the time of his death resided with his son
Edson H. His children are Frances (Mrs. Clark Lines of Spring Brook), Flora (Mrs. George
Weltz of Auburn), Melton B. of Olean, Hattie (Mrs. A. T. Eaton of Olean), Marriette (Mrs.
John Barton of Olean), Helen (Mrs. Wallace Groves of Friendship) and Edson H., who enlisted
in Co. B, 23d Regt. N. Y. V. in April, 1861, and had served 2 years when he re-enlisted in Co.
H, 2d Regt. N. Y. Mounted Rifles in 1863 as commissary sergeant and was discharged in Sep-
tember, 1865. He married Mary Crosby, and settled in Cuba. He has been in the tinsmith
business, and was in the hardware trade for 7 years. His wife died leaving 2 children, Sarah
(Mrs. H. S. Wagoner of East Aurora) and Arthur. His second wife was Anna Hall. They
have 2 children, William H. and Harry E. Mr. Keller is a member of S. T. Bartle Post, 183,
a member of Cuba Lodge 306, F. & A. M., Valley Point Chapter, No. 232, R. A. M., St. Johns
Commandery, No. 24, K. T. of Olean.
Fred Adell Keller, son of Enos and Mandana (Wesler) Keller, was born on Keller Hill in
Hinsdale, Cattaraugus county, Jan. 17, 1859. Christopher Keller, his grandfather moved to Kel-
ler Hill,3 miles from Cuba village, was the first settler there and the hill received its name from him.
Enos Keller removed to a farm in Cuba in the fall of 1882, where he now lives, but still owns
his farm in Cattaraugus county. Fred A. Keller came to Cuba in 1884, and to his present farm
at North Cuba in 1887. March 12, 1884, he married Ophelia, daughter of George and Martha
(Johnson) Amsden of Jackson Hill, Cuba. Their son George G. was born Jan. 1, 1886. Mr.
Keller is a Republican in politics.
Ora D. Kinney was born June 3, 1828, in Madison county, N. Y. In 1851 he married
Miss Margaret Jordan, a daughter of James and Catharine Jordan of Cuba. They had 5 chil-
dren: Arthur J., Eva Florence (dec.), Carrie E., Ida May (dec.), and Florence. Mrs. Kinney
died August 30, 1879. January 3, 1881, he married, second, Mrs. Margaret McDougal of Cuba.
Mr. Kinney kept a hotel in Clarksville for 3 years, and the Kinney House at Belfast 2 1/2 years.
He came to Cuba May 1,1885, and was proprietor of the Kinney House until his death, Nov.
4, 1886. Since then the house has been kept by his widow and his son Arthur, who was born
Oct. 28, 1851. This house (Hotel Kinney) is one of the finest in Allegany county. The rooms
are exceptionally neat and spacious, 25 of which are used for transients. At the time of Mr.
Kinney's death the house was unfinished but has since been completed by Mrs. Kinney and his
son Arthur, who has had the management and assumed its entire supervision, and who during
the past year has expended in improvements over $3,000.
David Kirkpatrick. The name Kirkpatrick is old in Scottish history. The family possessed
estates in Nithsdale in the 9th century, the first on record being Ivone Kirkpatrick, a witness to
the charter of Robert Bruce. A descendant, Thomas, was created Baronet of Nova Scotia in
1686. The coat of arms bears a dagger in pale distilling drops of blood, with motto: "I make
sure." Alexander, who came to America in 1736 and settled in New Jersey was the first
American emigrant of this branch. Among his descendants was Alexander, grandfather of
David and brother of Chief Justice Andrew and Captain David. Third among his 13 children
was John, who married Mary, daughter of David Ayers, and died Dec. 11, 1855. Children
William A., Elizabeth, Hannah A., Ira, Sarah C., Samuel A., and David, who came to Friend-
ship with their parents in 1822, and Walter and Mary Jane born here. Mrs. John Kirkpatrick
died in Cuba, whither she came with her husband in 1844, Dec. 19, 1862. John Kirkpatrick, a
846 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
miller, for several years operated gristmills in Friendship, Cuba, Angelica, Richburg, and
Franklinville. He held several town offices. Walter Kirkpatrick in 1846 went to Wisconsin,
where he now resides. William Kirkpatrick was born in New Jersey in 1809, came to Cuba in
1835, and died in 1890. With Gen. C. T. Chamberlain he built in 1844 a gristmill on the site of
the Phelps & Sibley mill. This was burned in 1878. He was a railroad and canal contractor
and for many years was superintendent of the Genesee Valley canal. David Kirkpatrick, born
in Romulus, Seneca Co., Dec. 29, 1820, from childhood worked in his father's mills and from
May, 1850, for 9 years was foreman on the Erie railroad. He then was for 23 years track
supervisor on the Western and Buffalo divisions. July 12, 1881, he became superintendent of
the building of the T. V. & C. railroad from Cuba to Attica. From 1867 until 1881 he resided
in Attica. Since 1882 he has lived an unostentatious life in Cuba village. Possessed of a
remarkably retentive memory Mr. Kirkpatrick is a mine of wealth to the historian and his quaint
anecdotes spice the dry details of statistics with humor. Sept. 20, 1849, he married Joanna,
daughter of Philip T. and Arrabella (Rafter) Armstrong of Cuba. Their only child, Arrabella
E., born Jan. 3, 1854, married Henry O. Wait, of Salamanca, president of the First National
Bank and treasurer of Cattaraugus county. A Democrat in politics Mr. Kirkpatrick has been
a public spirited citizen encouraging every local improvement, and village trustee several years.
Frederic Dillon Lyman, son of Dillon T. and Margaret (Weber) Lyman, was born in
Warren, Herkimer Co., June 5, 1839. Dillon T. came to Cuba April 5, 1865, moved to Friend-
ship in 1876, from there to Angelica in May, 1891. His children are Julia E. (Mrs. Sanford
Getman), F. D., Emily W. (Mrs. J. A. Miller), Jennie A. (Mrs. Frank Dean) and Maria E. (Mrs.
Johnson Dey). Frederick D. Lyman settled on a farm on Jackson Hill in Cuba March 24, 1865,
and in February, 1866, located on his present farm. April 24, 1861, he enlisted at Utica in Co.
E, 14th N. Y. Vol. Infantry for 2 years, and was mustered out with the Reg't at Utica, May 24,
1863. He was in 7 engagements and became corporal. He married, Feb. 22, 1865, Clara E.,
daughter of Jedediah and Mary J. (Kinne) Tillinghast, who was born in Frankfort, Herkimer
Co., Oct. 20, 1843.
George Spencer Marsh, son of George Stillman and Charlotte Cecelia (Fields) Marsh, was
born Sept. 23, 1847, in Rushford. Otis Marsh, his grandfather, came from Vermont to New
Hudson early and died there. George Stillman Marsh came with him and with his wife is still
living where his father first settled. Their children are George S., Elizabeth, Henry, Otis and
Mary. George S. Marsh was 2 years in Oil City, Pa., and upon returning to Rushford engaged
in cheesemaking. In 1880 he came to Cuba and built a factory, from which he produced
annually from 150,000 to 175,000 lbs. of cheese, this being the product of about 500 cows. His
cheese is acknowledged to be one of the best makes in the county. January 1, 1872, Mr. Marsh
married Laura Elizabeth, daughter of Asa B. and Elizabeth (Rose) Smith of Rushford. Mr.
Marsh enlisted Oct. 4, 1864, in Co. F, 189th N. Y., and served until the close of the war. He
is a member and for 3 years was secretary of Cuba Lodge, No. 306, F. & A. M., and a member
of Cuba Chapter, No. 232, R. A. M.
Darius D. Miner was born in Berkshire Co., Mass. He married Catharine Perkins and had
3 sons, Darius P., who lives in Iowa, William P., who resides at Portville and Clinton H. of
Cuba. After a residence in Prattsburg, N. Y., and Elk Co., Pa., in 1849, D. D. Miner came
to Clarksville and was engaged in farming. Clinton H. Miner was born Dec. 17, 1843, in
Pennsylvania. In 1862, August 1, he enlisted in Co. A, 136th regiment, N. Y. V. where he
held the office of corporal, and was severely wounded at the battle of Gettysburg and for 1 year
was unable to perform military duty. He was honorably discharged in June, 1865, He is a
member of Stephen D. Bartle Post, G. A. R., No. 183, and has been 5 times commander. In
1868 he married Mary H. Jordan, they had one child, Archie, who died when 10 years old.
After the close of the war Mr. Miner resided in Clarksville and was engaged in agriculture until
1890 when he moved to Cuba. He was elected justice of the peace in 1891, and held the office
one term in Clarksville. He is a member of the K. O. T M. Tent, No. 12. He has been
superintendent of the Presbyterian Sabbath school since Jan. 1, 1893, and was ordained as an
elder of that church in April, 1895.
Merritt Millett, son of Ephraim and Rachel (Graham) Millett, was born in Cuba, Oct. 31,
1845. His grandfather Alexander Millett came to Belfast in 1837. He was a farmer and died
in 1864, his wife about 1849. Ephraim Millett was born near Rochester Nov. 27, 1819. He
was a farmer, and a cooper by trade and always pursued that occupation. He married in 1842
and removed to Cuba that year. His children were Eliza, Merritt and Ellen. Merritt Millett
early in life was engaged with his father in making cheese boxes, then for 16 years worked for
the Smith estate in Cuba. In January, 1887, he went into the livery business in Cuba. Like
his father he was a Republican. Mr. Millett married Dell Middaugh in 1894. He died at his
home in Cuba Aug. 1, 1895, after a short illness.
Col. Samuel H. Morgan, an early settler of the county, was a member of that Vermont fami-
ly which is noted as the breeders and originators of the celebrated Morgan horses. He was
born in Vermont in 1786, married, in Rutland, Lucy Culver, and with his young wife came to
Rushford in 1810, and to the northwest corner of Cuba township, at the head of the reservoir,
a year or so subsequently, and here made their permanent home. Colonel Morgan died in 1843;
his widow in 1861. He was one well fitted for pioneer life, acquired his title from commission
in the militia, and was a keen and successful business man. His children were Samuel (dec.),
Charles, in Wisconsin, Conley M., Harriet (Mrs. J. Medbury), Lucia (Mrs. Freeman Sibley),
Henry (dec.), Carter H. and Sybil, died young. He has many descendants. Mrs. Samuel Mor-
gan lives on part of the old homestead. Conley M. lives one mile north of Cuba village; Mrs.
Medbury and Mrs. Sibley live on farms adjacent to him in the neighborhood of North Cuba.
Samuel, born in 1812, died in 1886, married Catharine Scott. Four of their 7 children are liv-
ing. Hon. Samuel H. Morgan, the only one living here, resides in Cuba village. He was born
in 1845, educated at Alfred University, when 24 left the farm for clerkships, first in North Cuba
store, next, in 1869, in Cuba Banking Co., was here one year clerk, one year assistant cashier,
then cashier till his resignation in 1880. During this time he served on the board of education
6 years. In 1879 he was elected to the state assembly from Allegany county, and re-elected in
1880. He was on several important committees, the most prominent one being that special one
on "Corporation Taxes." Since 1880 he has built railroads and water works on contract, and
owns franchises in Cayuga and Broome counties. Henry C. Morgan, son of Conley M., suc-
ceeded Samuel H. Morgan as cashier in the bank.
Edward O'Malley, son of Thomas O'Malley, was bom Aug. 15, 1847, near Hamilton, Can-
ada. In 1851 his father moved to Castleton, Vt., where he resided for a few years, then came
to Warsaw, N. Y. September 20, 1862, Edward enlisted in Co. E, 136th N. Y., and served
until June, 1865, when he was honorably discharged. He participated in 23 battles. He is a
member of S. T. Bartle Post, No. 183, G. A. R., and has been its commander 1 year. After
the war he returned to Warsaw, learned the marble cutter's trade, and in 1868 went to Spring-
field, Ill., and cut stone for the state capitol. In 1870 he located in Cuba and was foreman in
W. H. Bartholomew's marble shop for 11 years. In 1882 he went into business for himself
and is now the largest marble dealer in the county. He is a member of Cuba Lodge, No. 306,
F. & A. M. In 1895 he was appointed loan commissioner of Allegany county. Mr. O'Malley
married, in 1872, Henrietta Platt, and has three children, Harry, Ross and Margaret.
John Ormiston came from Scotland to St. Lawrence Co. in July, 1856, and in November,
1857, removed to Cuba to the farm now owned by Ormiston Brothers, his sons, known as the
Valley Point Stock Farm. He married Mary Davidson in Scotland where their children were
born. Jannett (dec.) and Walter (twins), John, George, James, William and Elizabeth. Walter
came to St. Lawrence Co. in 1852 and resides there. Mrs. Ormiston died January 11, 1886, and
in July, 1892, Mr. Ormiston was in his 94th year. James Ormiston, bom June 7, 1840,
and William, bom Nov. 11, 1844, under firm name of Ormiston Brothers began breeding thor-
oughbred Ayrshire cattle about 1874, starting with a purchase of 6 head. Their herd in 1892
numbered 57, and all were registered. Their cow "May Morn" was a prize winner in Scotland,
Canada and the United States. At St. Louis in 1882 and '83 they received most of the single
prizes on Ayrshire stock, and also the sweepstakes for the best Ayrshire of any age or sex.
The secretary of the St. Louis Exposition in 1883 was deputized by the officers to say to the
Ormiston Brothers that they had shown the best herd of Ayrshires ever exhibited in St. Louis or
the state of Missouri. Among their bulls were "Emperor" and "Mars First," the latter of
whom probably took more prizes than any bull before or since. In two years the firm received
over 160 prizes at state fairs.
B. Frank Osborne, son of Roderick, was born in Farmersville in 1841, November 24, 1861,
he enlisted in Co. D, 64th N. Y., and was orderly sergeant of the company. He was wounded
at the battle of Chancellorsville, was engaged in 13 battles and was honorably discharged in
November 1864. He is a member of Stephen T. Bartle Post, No. 183 G. A. R of Cuba. After
the war he returned to his native town, and was engaged in cheese manufacturing for 20 years.
He married Jennie, daughter of Clark Giles, and has one daughter, Lena.
William J. Penny. John Penny was born in Cooperstown, N. Y., Nov. 13, 1802. He mar-
ried Delaney Gavelock of Mohawk, N. Y., whose grandfather was killed by the Indians. Her
father was a Revolutionary soldier and was also, with three sons, in the War of 1812. Mr.
Penny made his home in Ithaca where he owned and conducted a cotton factory. In 1836 he
moved to Alfred, purchased a farm and was a prominent and respected citizen. Politically he
was Democrat and held the office of coroner and supervisor in 1847, '48, '49, '50. They had
six children, Charles W., Mary C., William J., Hannah A., Huldah M. and John A. He subse-
quently moved to Ward where his wife died in 1861. In 1863 he married Fanny Atwater of
Ludlowville, N. Y. They had two children, Delaney and Alice. He died in Belmont in 1867,
848 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
They were members of the M. E. Church. William J. Penny, son of John Penny, was born in
Ithaca, 1834, his childhood days were passed in Alfred and he was educated at Alfred University,
He was a clerk for some years in a store, and in 1858 engaged in the mercantile business in
Belmont, was interested with C. S. Whitney and also J. H. Browning. He sold out in 1867,
and in 1868 went to Cuba and was in partnership with John Thomson until 1873 when he pur-
chased his interest and conducted the business until 1883. In 1878 he commenced oil produc-
ing in company with C. M. Colwell, and later under the firm name of Coleman, Penny & Bayne
of Bradford, Pa., and has also been quite extensively interested in opening up the Andover oil
and gas field. Mr. Penny married in 1875 Mina A. Wilson. They have one daughter, Flor-
ence Adaline. The family are members of the Episcopal church.
Warren Oramel Phelps, son of Oliver and Emily (Follett) Phelps, was born at Hector, N.
Y., Sept. 1, 1845. He enlisted in 1864, and, after his discharge in 1865, came to Cuba and en-
gaged in tanning until 1883 when he began the erection of the flouringmill near the W. N. Y. &
P. R. R. In 1884 a partnership was formed with F. B. Sibley as Phelps & Sibley, which as-
sumed the ownership of the flouringmill property. Mr. Phelps married July 12, 1869, Louisa A.,
daughter of Morris and Amanda Brown, of Hinsdale, N. Y. Their children are Helen L. and
Florence E. Mr. Phelps has been trustee of Cuba village eight years.
John Mortimer Powers was born in Nelson, Madison county, March 21, 1823, son of John
and Mercy (Webster) Powers, who came to North Cuba with their children in 1828, purchasing
a farm of Stephen Smith. William Powers, father of John, came to North Cuba about 1835
and lived with his son until his death in 1836. John Powers was justice of the peace four years
and served as county superintendent of the poor. He was married in 1818 and died
Feb. 3, 1857. Both as a Whig and a Republican he was prominent in town affairs. His chil-
dren were Helen J., John M. and Amelia, none now living but John M. Mrs. Mercy Powers'
parents came to Cuba May 17, 1831. Her father died Nov. 13, 1838, her mother Sept. 16,
1843. John M. Powers attended Alfred Academy and Albany State Normal School and taught
school four terms and then became a farmer. He was town superintendent of schools one
term. He married Aug. 31, 1847, Adelia Maria, daughter of Ammi and Mary (Pratt) Carrier.
Their only child, Ivan, was a graduate of Rochester University in 1872, and admitted to practice
as a lawyer June 11, 1875, and was city attorney of Rochester in 1886-7. He married Ella L,
Dayton Aug. 28, 1884 at Cuba. She died Aug. 7, 1887 at Rochester. They had one child.
Ernestine Adelia Powers, born July 29, 1886 at Rochester.
William Farnsworth Robie, son of Levi and Annie (Perkins) Robie, was born in Bath,
Steuben county, June 11, 1862, and was educated at the Haverling Union School. His father
was a drygoods merchant at Bath. W. F. Robie learned the jeweler's trade at Bath and went
to Prospect, Ohio, in 1866, and engaged in the jewelry business. To this he later added the
sale of clothing, conducting trade there until October, 1891. In November, 1890, he came to
Cuba and opened a jewelry, clothing and "gent's furnishing" store which he now conducts at
"The Odd," No. 5 East Main street. He does watchmaking and repairing, and carries a fine
line of hats, trunks, satchels, etc. Mr. Robie married Jan. 28, 1886, Julia E., daughter of A.
M. and Mary B. Withington of Springwater, Livingston county.
Joseph Shearer, a native of Herkimer county, came to Scio in 1853 and settled on Knight's
Creek. He married Patience Curtis. They had 8 children. Mr. Shearer died in 1893. His wife
died Feb. 2, 1896. Benson H., son of Joseph, was born Nov. 10, 1852. He married Elizabeth
Geer and had 2 children, Arthur (who, when 10 years old, died under the influence of chloroform
admistered after his foot was crushed by the cars), and Bertha. Mr. Shearer has been a farmer
and since 1881 a contractor and builder, and employs several men. He is a member of the I.
O. O. F., No. 691 of Cuba, and Star Tent, No. 12, K. O. T. M.
Frank Burbank Sibley, son of Freeman L. and Lucia (Morgan) Sibley, was born in Cuba,
Feb. 24, 1845. The Morgan family are among the early ones of America and emigrated from
Wales and arrived in Boston in April, 1636. James Morgan was made a freeman in Roxbury,
Mass., in 1643. Members of the family have stood high in state and national councils, having
filled the offices of governor and United States senator, and have been among the successful
financiers of the country. The Sibleys were also here early. John Sibley of Hertfordshire,
England, settled in Salem in 1619 and was a member of the general court of Massachusetts.
Isaac Sibley of Massachusetts, grandfather of F. B. Sibley, was a descendant in the fifth gener-
ation from John, the emigrant. Frank B. Sibley was educated at the public schools and Alfred
University. He married, Dec. 21,1881,Margaret Gillies of Angelica. Their children are Jessie
Gillies Sibley born March 31, 1883, and Walter Frank Sibley born Jan. 12, 1887. Mr. Sibley
has been associated with W. O. Phelps in the milling business since May, 1884. He is con-
versant in town affairs, and a leader in the commercial, social and reform activities of the town
Russell Smith, only child attaining maturity of Stephen Smith, born July 10, 1830,succeeded
to the mercantile, manufacturing and other businesses of his father. The buildings connected
with these industries were scattered along for some distance on the northeast corner of Main
and Genesee streets, back of East Main street as now indicated. The ashery occupied the site
of the present Smith Block on Genesee street. He inherited many of his father's characteristics,
built the mansion now occupied by Mrs. Smith, and the inception and building of the Cuba
Fair Grounds were due to him, and this was his last work. He died, a victim to his devotion
to business, Oct. 31, 1869. He married June 17, 1851, Julia Anna, daughter of Rev. Jefferson
Wynkoop. Their sons were Addison W. and Charles S.
Henry Stevens, from Steuben county, came to Cuba not far from 1824, was a charter mem-
ber and first junior warden of the masonic lodge organized in 1825 and a charter member and
the first master of the same lodge under its reorganization in 1853, and was connected with
much business of importance in the little community. William Philander Stevens, son of Henry
and Laura Farwell (Baird) Stevens, was born at Painted Post, Aug. 10, 1820. Coming as a
child to Cuba he has never known any other-home. In the little district school he acquired the
requisites for a successful business life, and in the home circle those qualities of moral strength
and considerate justice that have marked his long life of usefulness. He has been one of Cuba's
best business men, and his time, his money and his activity has been given to the building up
of her industries and useful organizations. In 1844 he engaged in tanning and conducted this
business for about 35 years. He was appointed "fire warden" at the first corporation meeting
of the village in 1850 and was "chief" of the first fire department of Cuba organized in 1867.
He was also in 1850 one of the trustees of the Cuba cemetery, and in 1870 a charter member of
Valley Point Lodge of Odd Fellows. He was long a director of the Cuba National Bank, its
vice president 6 years and its president for 7 1/2 years. He has been a generous supporter of
the Episcopal church, a vestryman of Christ church, and one of the committee in charge of the
erection of its beautiful edifice. He is passing the twilight of life in one of the historic man-
sions of the village, surrounded by many friends and cared for by a son and daughter. "His
daughter was asked if she would give any one brief item regarding her father. She replied at
once: 'He is the best father the Lord ever made,' which answer we think is sufficient in itself,
and nothing need be added to such a tribute."
John Straight, son of Matthew, was born in Chenango county in 1829. When he was 4
years old his father came to New Hudson and purchased a farm where he resided until his
death. John married Harriet Higbie and settled in Lyndon, where he purchased a farm and
was engaged in agriculture. He was once elected constable, and 1 term overseer of the poor and
justice of the peace 4 terms in Lyndon and twice justice of sessions. In 1885 he moved to
Cuba and has been elected justice of the peace 2 terms.
George Harrison Swift, son of Calvin, was born in New Hudson, Aug. 5, 1840. In 1867
he engaged in the grocery business with his brother Simon P. as Swift Brothers. The firm was
dissolved in a year and G. H. Swift continued in trade alone for some years. He was under
sheriff for 3 years, was appointed postmaster in 1885, held the office nearly 4 years. After some
changes in location, in 1892, he with his partner, M. V. Lyman, as Swift & Lyman, removed to
Cuba and carried on a wholesale trade in confectionery, fruit, cigars, etc. Mr. Swift was elected
sheriff of the county in 1894, and is now in office. Mr. Swift was a member of the Cuba Board
of Education 12 years, village trustee 9 years, secretary of the Valley Point Agricultural Society
17 years and vice president one year, W. M. of Cuba Lodge, No. 306, F. & A. M., 6 years, D.
D. G. M. of the 23d Masonic district two terms, captain of host and member of council of Valley
Point, Chapter No. 232, and has been H. P. and a member and officer of St. John's Command-
ery, No. 24 of Olean.
Harlan Josiah Swift, son of Calvin and Sevilla (Ault) Swift was born in New Hudson, Oct.
2, 1843. His father was son of Wyatt, grandson of Jeriah and Waitabell (Lyon) Swift. Jeriah
was wounded at the battle of Bunker Hill and died. The Swifts' descended from Wm. Swift,
who landed in Boston, from England, in 1663 or 1664, and in 1667 bought a farm in Massachu-
setts which is now in the family. When Harlan J. was 4 years old, the family removed to Cuba.
He attended the common school, Rushford Academy, the State Normal school at Albany, and
Alfred University, and taught school. In May, 1863, he enlisted and was detailed as a clerk,
and later mustered in as commissary sergeant of Co. H, 2d N. Y. Mounted Rifles. He soon
was made 2d lieutenant, was acting adjutant during the campaigns of 1864 and 1865, also com-
manded his company and parts of Co.s B. and M. Promotions were repeatedly offered him,
which would take him from the men he went in with, but he refused to accept choosing rather
to keep his word to his comrades. His regiment was in the battles of the Wilderness, Spott-
sylvania, North Anna, Pamunky, Tolopotomy, the other historic actions of the Peninsular, and
the siege of Petersburg. June 18, 1864, his regiment by a charge obtained possession of the
"Knoll," thus enabling the union forces to dig the famous mine which was exploded July 3,
850 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
1864. He was in the midst of the fight, on both days, and also in every action in which his reg-
iment engaged. His company never went into a fight except under his lead. In September,
1865, he was mustered out, and returning to Cuba, studied law with N. P. and E. D Loveridge,
was admitted to the bar in November, 1866, and soon after formed a partnership with E. D.
Loveridge, as Loveridge & Swift, which continued till he was appointed county judge, taking
the oath of office Oct. 12, 1882. Soon after he located as an attorney in Buffalo, his present res-
idence. In 1869 he married Martha A. Higgins of Rushford, who died Sept. 7, 1891. Parton,
his only surviving child, is at Cornell University. Mr. Swift has been connected with many im-
portant cases, notably the Hendryx murder trial in our county, is a powerful advocate, and a
thoroughly equipped and successful lawyer.
John Thompson came from the south of Scotland in 1832 and settled on a farm three miles
south of Cuba village. He had married in Scotland Margaret, daughter of George Murray.
Their children were John, Jane (died 1853), James, Robert, Margaret (died 1889) and David.
He was active in educational matters and was school trustee. He died Jan. 27, 1874, his wife
July 5, 1865. John Thompson born in Cuba Feb. 4, 1833, when 17 went to the village
to learn the carpenter and joiner's trade with S. K. Cutter, with whom he remained eight
years, then after 3 years passed on a farm he has ever made his home in the village.
Soon after learning his trade he went to Meadville, Pa., to work on the A. & G. W. R. R. and
from there to Canada to work on the Ft. Erie & Niagara R. R. Returning to Cuba he again
worked 8 years with Mr. Cutter, and for 2 years was state carpenter on the Genesee Valley
canal, and later, for 3 years was master carpenter of the Mt. Morris & Essex (N. J.) R. R. He
then formed a partnership with Mr. Cutter in Cuba as Cutter & Thompson. Among the build-
ings put up by him are the Universalist church, the Cuba National Bank block, some of the
finer residences, the engine house and the St. James Hotel (rebuilt). After this firm was dis-
solved Mr. Thompson was for 1 year carpenter on the Erie railway, and in 1881 was made
foreman carpenter, and in 1889 master carpenter of the Western Division. He married Nov.
17, 1859, Amelia, daughter of Jabez and Lola (Benedict) Ashley of Cuba.Their children are,
Ella J. (married L. T. Howard), Ellena (married A. Warner of Toledo, Ohio), Frederick G., a
teacher of penmanship, Lola M., a music teacher, Clarence R., Nina, born Sept. 23, 1871, died
Jan. 9, 1874, Harry and Arthur. Mr. Thompson is a Republican.
David Thompson, youngest child of John the emigrant, was born June 4, 1845, and at-
tained maturity on the farm. In 1872 he went into the meat business at Cuba. In 1877 he
took charge of the state scow on the Genesee Valley canal, and in 1882 became a carpenter on
the Erie railway. In 1886 he opened a wholesale and retail meat-market in the village which
he still conducts. Mr. Thompson is a Democrat, an Odd Fellow, and was excise commissioner
2 years. He married Jan. 17, 1871, Ammadelle, daughter of William and Lois German of
Clarksville. Children, Lilian, George and Florence. David German, father of William, came
early with his family to Cuba, and about 1845, William removed to Clarksville, his present home.
He married Lois Ann Hickox Nov. 12, 1843.
Hon. Addison Smith Thompson, son of James R. and Sally Ann (Fargo) Thompson, was
born March 6, 1843, in New Hudson, whither his father came in 1838 from Lexington, Greene
county. James R. was a farmer and for some time was town supervisor of Lyndon, Cattarau-
gus county. His children by his first marriage were Addison S., John E. (died in the army in
1862), David and Frank (dec.). His second wife was Mrs. Mary Ann (Higby) Frary; their
children were, Estella, Frank, Charles, Adella and Adellia (dec.). Addison S. Thompson en-
listed in August, 1861, in Co. E, 5th N. Y. Cav., and served until July 19, 1865, re-enlisting
in the meantime as a veteran. He was taken prisoner twice and rose from the ranks to second
lieutenant. Returning to New Hudson Mr. Thompson engaged in cheese making, building two
factories in that town, selling one in 1882 and the other in 1889. He also lived in Cattaraugus
county 3 years. He came to Cuba in December, 1890, and began making cheese in present
factory. In 1889 he was elected to the assembly and re-elected in 1890, serving his constitu-
ents loyally and faithfully. Mr. Thompson served on the committee on agriculture, on military
affairs, and on trades and manufactures, and was chairman of the committee on charitable and
religious societies. In 1885-6 he was town supervisor of New Hudson. June 21, 1863, Mr.
Thompson married Eunice, daughter of Alexander and Lucenia (Markham) McKaigue of Lyn-
don, Cattaraugus county, and their children are Robert I., A. Emmett, John B. and Mary F.
(died in April, 1891). Mr. Thompson is a member and now past commander of Stephen T.
Bartle Post, No. 183, G. A. R. of Cuba. His great uncle, James Thompson, served in the War
of 1812 as did also his mother's father, David Fargo.
Orlando Jordon Warren, son of John Griswold and Amelia (Powers) Warren, was born
July 20, 1854, on Jackson Hill in Cuba. John G. Warren, son of Dura, removed from Cuba to
Indiana in 1875. His children by his first wife were Leslie, John, Orlando J. and Amelia. His
second wife's children were George, Fred, Floddie and Frank. Orlando J. Warren attended
Cuba Union School and was a farmer until 1869, when, until 1875, he was engaged on the
Canada Southern railroad. He then returned to Cuba and with George Amsden and William
Campbell commenced cheese manufacturing. Later he purchased their interest and has since
conducted the business alone. His product is about 200,000 pounds annually, and he uses the
milk of 500 cows. His factory system is on the co-operative principle. Mr. Warren married
Frances E., daughter of Roger and Celestia Crandall of Little Genesee, Sept. 25, 1876.Their
children are William and Helen.
Dallas Benjamin Whipple, D. D. S., son of Benjamin and Pamelia (Marsh) Whipple, was
born in New Hudson Oct. 1 I, 1844, where Benjamin Whipple settled in 1830 and died Aug. 3,
1889. His children were Harriet (Mrs. Hiram Gleason of Belfast), Dr. Prescott of Chicago,
Mary L. (died in Flint, Mich., in 1847, leaving 2 sons), Dr. Otis of Olean, Dallas B., Royal (a
farmer on the New Hudson homestead) and Dr. Gardner of Cuba. D. B. Whipple practiced
dentistry in Cuba and Olean, and in 1877 became an oil operator on Kendall Creek, Pa., and
founded Dallas City. In 1881 he operated in Richburg and later in Clarksville. In 1882 he
purchased a farm in the village which he stocked with that famous herd of Holstein-Friesian
cattle, known as "The family of Pietertje 2d," (see another page). Mr. Whipple then began
breeding American trotting horses and was the first man in the county to own a Hambletonian
stallion. In 1891 he sold the stallion, "Egthorne," whose record was 2.12 1/2, and now owns
some of his progeny. (This is the fastest stallion record in the state.) Mr. Whipple possesses
the true instincts of a breeder. He has filled all the "chairs" in his Odd Fellows lodge and is
a Freemason. He has been village trustee, president of Valley Point Agricultural and Mechan-
ical Society for two years, vice president of the Western New York Agricultural Society and
vice president of the Elmira Exposition. He was the organizer of the "D. B. Whipple Protec-
tives" fire company of Cuba. Mr. Whipple married Oct. 24, 1865, Eliza J., daughter of Abra-
ham L. and Olive (Randolph) Flinn. Children, George D., born March 10, 1868, and Maud E.,
born Sept. 30, 1874. Through her mother Mrs. Whipple is a lineal descendant of John Ran-
dolph of Virginia.
Abram M. Young, son of William and Ruth (Knapp) Young, was born in New York City
April 6, 1827, and when 23 years old went to Buffalo where until 1873 he was a merchant
tailor. He then removed to Hume and was in the same business with Hammond, Marvin &
Minard. In 1883 Mr. Young opened a branch shop in Cuba, 2 years later disposed of the busi-
ness in Hume and settled in Cuba village. Besides his merchant tailoring he carried a complete
line of men's furnishings. In February, 1891, he formed a partnership with Lawson Paul as A.
M. Young & Co. In May, 1848, he married Cornelia, daughter of Charles M. Wright of Peeks-
kill, N. Y. Children : Sarah E., Frances E., Otis F. (dec.), Charles H., Alice R. (Mrs. George
Clark of Cuba), Ida E., and William F. of Peora, Ill. (an adopted son.) William Young came
to Hume with his son, Abram M., and died in July, 1880, in Caneadea at the home of his
daughter, Mrs. Catharine P. Ogden. Mr. Young is an Odd Fellow and a strong Republican.
Hon. Calvin T. Chamberlain was born in Maine Dec. 5, 1793, the son of Benjamin Cham-
berlain, a distinguished soldier of the continental army of the Revolution. In 1800 Benjamin
with his six sons came to the Genesee country and later made their home in Belfast. In 1816
Calvin settled in the wilderness at Cuba village, where but a handful of people had homes, and
from that time to his death, June 27, 1878, was perhaps more prominently identified with its
growth and prosperity than any other man. He built the first store in the village and had part
in most of the many enterprises established in the town. Farming, lumbering, manufacturing
of various kinds, banking, milling, building and promoting public works, all largely engaged his
attention. He was a giant in force and in intellect and carried all of his numerous undertak-
ings to success by the power of his invincible energy and rare business sagacity. A stalwart
Democrat, he represented his county and district in the legislature by flattering votes of the
people. He was a member of the constitutional convention of 1846, and for some years brig-
adier general of militia. He ranked high in Masonry, belonged to the order 62 years, and was,
at his death, the oldest Freemason in Western New York. He was long a communicant and a
benefactor of the Episcopal church of Cuba whose church edifice was largely built by his gene-
rosity, and its senior warden from the establishment of the parish. He married first Betsey
Moore, second Sarah (Russell) Waters. By the second wife he had six children.
852 HISTORY OF ALLEGANY COUNTY, N. Y.
WILLIAM HENRY BARTHOLOMEW.
William Henry Bartholomew, son of Joel and Huldah (Lyman) Bartholo-
mew of Connecticut, was born at Pompey, Onondaga county, Feb. 13, 1832,
and died suddenly at Little Valley, Sept. 1, 1892. When 16 years old he
commenced working at marble cutting in Fayetteville and continued for
some years. In 1857, with his brother, Alonzo C., he came to Cuba and es-
tablished the Cuba Marble and Granite Works. This partnership continued
for ten years, when A. C. Bartholomew removed to Titusville where he died
in 1877. W. H. Bartholomew remained in the business in Cuba and was well
and extensively known over a wide area for the excellence of his work and
his probity. Several times fire destroyed his property, but always those
with whom he had dealings promptly came to his assistance proving their
confidence in his honesty and integrity. He was a prominent Free-mason,
was master of Cuba Lodge and High Priest of Valley Point Chapter. We here
quote from the memorial prepared by the brethren on the occasion of his
death. "He served faithfully and well in the position of High Priest of Valley
Point Chapter, No. 232, R. A. M. from Jan. 1, 1871, to Jan. 1,1874, and from Jan.
1, 1876, to Jan.1,1879, and filled almost every office in the chapter with zeal and
fidelity. We miss his presence and his ever willing labors in behalf of the order,
and his companionship as a friend and fellow citizen. His integrity and up-
rightness were adornments to the order and his associates." The Ancient
Order of United Workmen also recognized in his death" the loss of a worthy
member and the community a good citizen." The Rushford Cemetery Asso-
ciation thus expresses itself: " Whereas, Mr. Bartholomew had at divers
times and in a substantial manner expressed his interest in and apprecia-
tion of this association in beautifying their cemetery grounds, especially in
his gift to the association of the beautiful arch now erected over the en-
trance walk of said grounds, this meeting desires to place on record its ap-
preciation of his worth and kindly assistance and its expression of its sor-
row for his loss." Mr. Bartholomew was active in all pertaining to the
progress and welfare of the community, and his townsmen honored him
with offices of trust and responsibility, among them those of village trustee
and assessor. He was warmhearted and generous and his help was freely
given to those in need, and his memory will live long in the hearts of the
many who knew and loved him. His generosity and warm feeling for those
who needed assistance are well known and he has in the hearts of many a
monument more durable and more beautiful than even those which his own
talent and industry have placed in the many cemeteries of this region. He
has left behind a clean record, and a tender memory with all who knew him.
He married Oct. 29, 1872, Eloise O., daughter of Philo and Ruth Roberts, of
Cuba who survives him. She was an estimable helpmeet and fully devoted
to her husband and in accord with his numerous acts of charity.