TOWN OF MOREAU.
Moreau is the most northerly town of the county. It is bounded on the north and
east by the county line, on the south by Northumberland and Wilton, and on the west by Corinth and the county line.
The Revised Statutes define the town thus:
The town of Morean shall contain all that part of said county bounded westerly by Corinth, southerly by Northumberland
and Wilton, and northerly and easterly by the bounds of the county.
The precipitous peaks of the Palmertown mountains occupy much of the western section of Moreau, while the central
and eastern portions are hilly, with numerous creeks running through picturesque ravines. The southern part is
drained by Snoek (or Snook) kill and its tributaries. Other small streams flow northerly and easterly into the
Hudson river, which is grandly picturesque at this point. Many rapids and falls in this stream afford excellent
water power, which has been developed to a remarkable extent. The scenery among the mountains in the western part
of the town is magnificent, rivaling the wilder part of the Adirondack mountains, of which these heights are a
part. There are numerous small but picturesque lakes and ponds in the town. The Delaware and Hudson railroad crosses
the southeastern section of the town from southwest to northeast.
The earliest settlement in town probably was made at South Glens Falls in 1766 by Elijah Parks and his sons. The
former built a saw mill at that point, the first mill of any kind in town. His home was attacked by Tories and
Indians in 1777 and Elisha, one of his sons, mortally shot. The Jones family (one of the sons of which, David,
was the betrothed of Jennie McCrea) located on the river bank in the southern part of the town before the Revolution.
Captain Tuttle lived about the same time at the mouth of Snoek kill. A man named Marvin was the first settler at
Fortsville in 1794. Edward and Elijah Dunham and Holly St. John were the first settlers at Clark’s Corners. A man
named Hamilton built the first grist mill about 1800. Abel Crandall had the first tavern, in 1797. The first church
in town (Baptist) was built in 1792.
South Glens Falls is the principal village in Moreau. It is located on the Hudson in the northeastern part of the
town, across the river from Glens Falls, Warren county. It contains several important manufacturing establishments.
The large mills of the Morgan Lumber company employ a great number of hands. The Glens Falls Paper company is another
great enterprise which has mills here. The village was laid out in 1837. The first church established there- was
the Baptist church, referred to above. The second established there (M. E.) was organized in 1843. Fortsville is
located southeast of the centre of the town. Clark’s Corners, in the southeastern part, was so named in honor of
Dr. Billy J. Clark, one of the early physicians of the town. Reynolds’s Corners is northeast of the centre.
Moreau was organized as a town March 28, 1805, its territory being taken from Northumberland. At the first town
meeting, held April 16 following, these officers were elected:
The supervisors since that time have been as follows:
1805-08, Thomas Rogers; 1809, Billy J. Clark; 1810—12, Henry Martin; 1813—17, James Mott; 1818—19, Thomas Mott;
1820, Paulinus Potter; 1821—22, Gordon G. Sill; 1823—30, Josiah G. Griswold; 1831, Billy J. Clark; 1832—33, George
Reynolds; 1834, Seth Hawley; 1835—36, Josiah J. Hawley; 1837, Joshua Fish; 1838, George Reynolds; 1839, Lucius
Cary; 1840—43, Joseph A. Sweet; 1844—46, George Payne; 1847-48, Truman Hamlin; 1849, Heman K. Hopkins; 1850, George
P. Reynolds; 1851, H. K. Hopkins; 1852—53, J. A. Sweet; 1854, H. K. Hopkins; 1855, Hassan A. Hopkins; 1856, J.
A. Sweet; 1857, Truman Hamlin; 1858-62, Austin L. Reynolds; 1863, L. B. Swartwout; 1864, Isaac G. StiliwelI; 1865-66,
A. L. Reynolds; 1867—70, George P. Reynolds; 1871, A. L. Reynolds: 1872, A. F. Hitchcock; 1873—74, S. Mott Sweet;
1875, William A. Sherman; 1876, George W. Smith; 1877, S. Mott Sweet; 1878—79, John Campbell; 1880—81, Thomas Reynolds;
1882, Alaric F. Hitchcock; 1883, Howland Fish; 1884-85, Lewis W. Hamlin; 1886-87, A. L. Reynolds; 1888, George
I. Jackson; 1889—92, L. W. Hamlin; 1893, Howland Fish; 1894-98. George I. Jackson.