History of Lincoln Township, Hendricks County, Indiana
From: History of Hendricks County, Indiana
Hon. John V. Hadley, Editor in Chief.
B. F. Bowen & Co., Inc.
Indianapolis, Indiana 1914


Lincoln township is located on the eastern boundary of Hendricks county, bounded on the north by Brown and Middle townships, on the east by Marion county, on the south by Washington township and on the west by Middle township. The township was organized in 1863, by a division of Brown township into two parts. White Lick, flowing through the western part, breaks the otherwise altost level ground of the township. The land along this stream valley is rolling and very fertile. The level portion of the area is of rich, alluvial quality in most places, but in spots is composed of clay, which is not highly productive. Plenty of timber once covered the land in this township, but, as in other parts of Hendricks, this has been removed from the path of cultivation.


In the autumn of 1824 James Brown made the first settlement in the territory destined to become Lincoln township. After him and previous to the year 183o came G. W. Tyler, William Harris, Daniel and Thomas Newman, Daniel Brown, William Merritt, Robison Turin, Caleb Shirley, John Given, Larkin Dollahite, James Shirley, Thomas Nash, Harvey and T. H. Barlow, the latter settling with their father, Enoch, in 1828, just outside the limits of Brownsburg. In 1830 and immediate years Asa McDaniel and sons, Joel Smith and sons and Peter Metsker located in the vicinity of Brownsburg.

The first justice of the peace in Lincoln township was Edward Railsback. Swain's tavern, on the road two miles east of Brownsburg, was one of the noted spots of the early day. This inn was a gathering place for the settlers and a very popular one.

Politically, Lincoln township has been very changeable, Republicans and Democrats having at different times controlled the township vote.


Although one of the smallest townships in the county, Lincoln is important. Agriculture is the main industry and in the town of Brownsburg there is strong evidence of civic and commercial pride. Two railroads and one interurban line increase the value of the township land, together with the good roads, the latter an universal feature of the entire county. The country bears the mark of improvement and modem life and is an example of the qualities which have made Indiana one of the first states in the Union. Good farms, schools, homes, roads, telephones, fences, drainage system, are but a few of the factors which make Lincoln township today a first class one.


The town of Brownsburg is located on section 11, in the northern part of Lincoln township. The town was laid out by William Harris in 1835 and first named Harrisburg, but upon the establishment of the postoffice was changed to the present name. B. M. Logan was the first merchant in the town.

Brownsburg was incorporated in the year 1848, in which year the board of commissioners ordered a chairman, clerk and five trustees elected. The election was held on June 24, 1848, and resulted in the choice of the following: Chairman, Henry H. Moore; clerk, T. J. White; trustees, William M. Dinwiddie, T. J. White, Sam Betts, Gaten Menifee, James Davidson. Ten votes only were cast at this first election. This corporation did not last long, however. In 1870 it was revived and has continued ever since. The present officers are: Trustees, I. N. Mugg, R. A. Fuson and Elza Henson; clerk, Harry H. Hughes; treasurer, Harry Johnson; marshal, John T. Ellis.

The present population of Brownsburg is about nine hundred, the official census in 1910 having been eight hundred seventy six. The only public utility at present in the town is that of electricity, which service is supplied by the Danville Light, Heat and Power Company. There is a branch factory of the Ladoga Canning Company, a tile factory, grist mill and saw mill in the list of industries. Brownsburg is the only town in Hendricks county at this date which allows licensed sale of liquor.

Brownsburg, both in the business and residential part of town, is neat and attractive. It is a substantially built town. Business conditions are reported as being excellent. Social life also plays a prominent role in the cominunity.

Brownsburg Lodge No. 241, Free and Accepted Masons, was organized in 1859 with the following members: J. T. Davidson, H. W. White, J. P. Welshans, William Harris, William McDaniel, Joseph Holloway and S. M. Potts. The lodge has a good membership now and is very prosperous.

Brownsburg Lodge No. 377, Knights of Pythias, was instituted in 1898. There are now one hundred and forty members.

Brownsburg Lodge No. 188, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was organized in 1857. The charter of the lodge was surrendered at the time of the opening of the Civil War, but was renewed in 1866. This lodge has again become inactive.

There is also a tribe of the Improved Order of Red Men at Brownsburg.

John A. Hollett Post No. 242, Grand Army of the Republic, was mustered in in the fall of 1883, with eleven members and named after a gallant soldier of the Seventy ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry. This post is no longer in active condition.

The Hunter Bank was organized in April, 1907, by M. T. Hunter, C. L. Hunt, Jane Frank, Julia H Hitt. The bank succeeded the firm of Cope & Hunt, bankers. M. T. Hunter was the first president, and C. L. Hunt the first cashier. These officers are the same now. The first and present capital stock is $10,000; the deposits total $210,000, and the surplus is $3,000. The bank was chartered in April, 1907.

The Brownsburg State Bank was organized in 1908, succeeding the Brownsburg Bank. The first officers were: W. F. Evans, president; J. L. Marsh, cashier; J. S. Tharp, vice president; Grandison Eaton, assistant cashier. The present officers are: W. F. Evans, president; I. N. Mugg, cashier J. S. Tharp, vice president, and Ollie Miller, assistant cashier. This bank was chartered on April 1, 1908.

Return to [ Indiana History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Indiana Biographies ]

Indiana Counties at this web site - Cass - Clay - Dearborn - Elkhart - Fayette - Gibson - Hancock - Hendrick - Henry - Miami - Monroe - Montgomery - Porter - Posey - Putnam - Rush - St. Joseph - Tippecanoe - Wabash

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ PA ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy