History of Benton Township, Kansas
From: History of Butler County, Kansas
BY: Vol. P. Mooney
Standard Publishing Company
Lawrence, Kansas 1916

By J. C. Henrie and Elmer Dickerson.

Benton township was named after or for the late Thomas Benton Murdock, using his middle name. It was organized in February, 1872, out of the territory comprising Congressional township 26, range 3, and an election ordered held at the general election in April for the election of township officers, at or near the residence of M. T. Wallace. The officers elected at that time were as follows: John Mendenhall, trustee; L. A. Harper, clerk; W. H. Litson, treasurer; W. J. Estes and Charles Hazelhurst, justices of the peace. The assessed valuation of the township for 1872 was $20,296, and for 1915, $1,311,059. The township is adapted to agriculture and stock raising. All kinds of cereals and grasses, tame and native, grow and flourish. There are five school districts in the township, and about seven miles of the Missouri Pacific railway.

The town of Benton was platted in 1883 and now contains a high school, two churches, one grain elevator, five general stores, two hardware stores, one drug store, one bank, one hotel, two garages, two physicians, two blacksmith shops, the orders of the K. of P. and I. O. O. F., each having their own halls, and are in a flourishing condition; one lumber yard, coal yard and numerous other lines of business are represented. The town is lighted by electricity. Benton has also one newspaper, The Benton "Bulletin," published by John W. Milsap, and enjoys a good circulation and liberal patronage of its advertising columns.

Amog the early settlers were J. P. J. Nelson, J. Edmiston, W. H. Litson, E. E. Armstrong, Noah Siders, William Coverdale, R. C. Spaulding, R. F. Moore, W. A. Aikman, John H. Clark, S. H. Dickerson, Robert Dodge, M. T. Wallace, J. C. Henrie, Ed. Harding, M. Gidly, E. H. Stoddard, S. Shafer, I. W. Maple, E. W. Rollings, M. W. Priest, John Imman, Andrew Duffey, L. A. Harper, H. W. Beck, E. Burley, Eli Lytle, A. Melrose, D. Barnett, George Medworth, W. M. Mathers, W. M. McCune, J. L. McCune, Charles Hazelhurst and many others. Practically every quarter section was occupied by the claimant or owner at the time the township was organized, a majority of whom have gone from among us never more to return; others moved away and a few still own their original homesteads, while others are occupied by the descendants of the homesteader.

Return to [ Kansas History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Illinois Biographies ]

Kansas Counties at this web site - Anderson - Atchison - Butler - Leavenworth - Lyon - Sedgwick - Shawnee

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy