History of Fairmont Township, Kansas
From: History of Butler County, Kansas
BY: Vol. P. Mooney
Standard Publishing Company
Lawrence, Kansas 1916

By M. Guinty.

Fairmount township was organized January 6, 1873. The first election was held in April following. The first township officers elected were: M. Guinty, trustee: A. J. Nation, treasurer; I. J. Davis, clerk; J. Cutler and F, S. Wallace, justices of the peace; D. M. Daffron and G. A. Watson, constables.

In 1870, H. D. Olinger and family, J. C. Olinger, George M. Daffron and James W. Ferguson came from LeClare county, Minnesota, and located in whit is now Fairmount township. John W. Williams came in May, 1871, and Asa White in the fall of 1870, but later moved to Story county, Iowa. Mace Nickeson, John Fullerton and Samuel Fullerton moved from Illinois in the fall of 1870. Albert Worline, Marion Worline, Jerome Worline Monroe Worline, John Burns and Alexander Kennedy came from Pleasant Hill, Cass county, Missouri, in May, 1871. Evan Jones and Dick Jones came in May 1871 also. J. K. Nellans came from Rochester, Fulton county, Indiana, March 22, 1876. In 1878 he bought and settled on the northwest quarter of section 3, which he made his home until February 27, 1916, when he met death by being run down by a Rock Island passenger train at Elbing, Kan. Peter Dyck, Abraham Regier, J. W. Regier and Bernhardt Regier came from Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, in 1885. These people were the nucleus of the Mennonite German settlement which has extended at this time to almost one third of the present township. They are among our best citizens and have some of the finest farms and best improvements there are in the county. They are good citizens, thrifty, honest and hard working men and women and attend to their own business strictly, apparently enjoying life to its fullest extent.

In May, 1871, the following families came from Woodbine, Harrison county, Iowa: I. J. Davis, John A. Baskins, A. Davenport, M. Gunty, William Robinson and Henry Robinson. Singleton Shepherd came from Missouri in 1870 and resided here until 1890, when he left and moved to Chautauqua county, Kansas. Mathew Stipe came from Indiana in October, 1873, and is still residing in the township. A. J. Nation came in March, 1871, and died on the home place in March, 1905. J. J. Lyon and James Clark came from Missouri in 1871. J. B. Spangler came from Pleasant Hill, Mo., and settled on the south half of the northeast quarter of section 14. He is one of the few that still owns and resides on the land which he homesteaded. Alexander Hewitt came from Keokuk, Iowa, with his family in May, 1871, and still owns and resides on his original homestead. Milton Embry came from Missouri in 1872. A. G. Moore, J. P. Moore, Aaron Branson and A. Brubaker and families came from Iowa in 1871. Hiram Brown located in the township in 1871. In addition to those above named, quite a number of others settled in the township in early days and have since moved away and their whereabouts are unknown.

Fairmount township did not have as many homestead settlers as some of the other townships in the county for the reason that the odd numbered sections in the township were the property of the Sante Fe Railroad Company, having been donated to it by the government to assist it in constructing the railroad, and these sections were not subject to homestead entry, and hence there was not as many homesteaders in our township as in other townships. The township has seven miles of railroad, being a branch of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Company. The town of Elbing is an enterprising little place, consisting of a bank, of which Herman Jackson is president, and D. C. Crosby is cashier; two general stores, a hardware and implement store, lumber yard, together with a postoffice, blacksmith shop and other lines of business and all seem prosperous. More live stock is shipped from this point than any other point within 100 miles of it on the Rock Island railroad. For a number of years, the citizens of this town were compelled to go to Peabody in Marion county to get their mail. that being the nearest postoffice.

Return to [ Kansas History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ] [ Illinois Biographies ]

Kansas Counties at this web site - Anderson - Atchison - Butler - Leavenworth - Lyon - Sedgwick - Shawnee

Also see the local histories for [ CT ] [ IA ] [ IL ] [ IN ] [ KS ] [ ME ] [ MO ] [ MI ] [ NE ] [ NJ ] [ NY ] [ OH ] [ PA ] [ WI ]

All pages copyright 2003-2013. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy