History of Unity, Maine
A Gazetteer of the
State of Maine

By Geo. J. Varney
Published by B. B. Russell, 57 Cornhill,
Boston 1886

Unity lies in the north-western part of Waldo County. It is bounded by Burnham on the north, Thorndike on the east, Freedom and Albion on the south, and Unity Plantation on the west. A broad belt of the town on this side consists of wooded plain. There are smaller areas of woodland in the eastern and other parts of the town. The surface generally is not greatly broken, and lies in swells and valleys of no great height or depth. The soil is of clay and sandy loam, and a light and a dark loam, and is tolerably fertile. Hay is the crop having the greatest value. Unity or Twenty-five Mile Pond lies partially within the northern part of the town. The principal water-course is Sandy Stream, which runs through the town from the south-east to Unity Pond. Unity village is situated upon this stream about one mile south of the pond. The principal water-powers are on this stream. The manufactures consist of plows, carriages, one grist and planing mill, lumber (six mills), tinware, cheese (Unity Cheese Factory), harnesses, etc., etc. The Belfast branch of the Maine Central Railroad runs through the town, having a station near the village. The habitations in general have a thrifty appearance, and the roads are good.

This town belonged to the Plymouth Patent. Its settlement was commenced about the year 1782. It was incorporated June 22, 1804. The political harmony of the inhabitants is said to have suggested the name of the town. There is a Union church edifice, and a Congregationalist and a Methodist society. There are twelve public schoolhouses and the school property is valued at 2,500. The population in 1870 was 1,201. In 1880 it was 1,092. The valuation in 1870 was $384,465. In 1880 it was $386,334. The rate of taxation in the latter year was 27 mills on the dollar.

Return to [ Maine History ] [ History at Rays-Place ] [ Rays-place.com ]

Maine Counties - Androscoggin - Aroostook - Cumberland - Franklin - Hancock - Kennebec - Knox - Lincoln - Oxford - Penobscot - Piscataquis - Sagadahoc - Somerset - Waldo - Washington - York