Corinth is bounded on the north by Day and Hadley, on the east by Warren county and Moreau, on the south by Wilton and Greenfield, and on the west by Edinburgh. The Revised Statutes define the town thus:

The town of Corinth shall contain all that part of said county beginning at the southeast corner of the town of Edinburgh and running thence south along the east bounds of Providence to a point due west from the middle of a public highway south of and adjoining the late dwelling house of George Shove, deceased, then east to the middle of the said highway, then east to the northwest corner of Wilton, then north thirty-two degrees east to a place called Flat Rock on or near the western bank of said river, then north to the bounds of the county, then westerly and northerly along the bounds of the county to a point six miles north of the south bounds of said town of Corinth, then west parallel to said south bounds to the east bounds of Edinburgh, and then south along the same to the place of beginning.

The surface of Corinth is mountainous, abounding in wild, diversified and exceedingly picturesque scenery. The Kayaderosseras range of mountains extend through the northern and western portion, and the Palmertown mountains occupy the southeastern part. In the extreme southeastern corner is the famous Mount McGregor, where Gen. Ulysses S. Grant died. This mountain, however, lies partly in Moreau and Wilton. In the northwestern part are several small lakes, among the larger being Hunt, Efnor, and Jenny lakes and Black pond. Early’s creek runs along the foot of the Kayaderosseras range; Daly’s creek, which is supplied by the lakes above named, flows northward across the western part of the town; Clothier’s creek flows along the northwestern base of Mount McGregor; and the Kayaderosseras creek rises in the southern part and flows in a southerly direction into Saratoga lake. The great falls of the Hudson river lie about midway of the eastern boundary. The scenery at Palmer’s Falls is probably unexcelled in New York State, except that the world of industry has laid its hand upon the waterpower there for manufacturing purposes. The Adirondack railroad runs nearly north and south east of the middle of the town. The, Mount McGregor railroad enters the extreme southeastern corner, its track extending about a mile into the town.

The first settlement in Corinth was made near Mount McGregor about 1775 by Ambrose Clothier. Samuel Eggleston located near by in the same year. Benjamin Ide came from Jonesville, in Clifton Park, in 1777. The first church (Baptist) was constituted in 1795. The first lumber mills in the town were built about 1800. Jonathan Deuel owned one at South Corinth in that year. The first clothing mill was built about 1805 on Kayaderosseras creek by Washington Chapman. Hiram Chapman had the, first store, at South Corinth, in 1826.

Corinth is a village located in the northeastern part of the town. It has several manufactures, including paper mills. The village is of modern growth. It was incorporated in 1888; since which time the village presidents have been:

1888, Warren Curtis; 1889-1890, S. C. Johnson; 1891, Daniel B. Ide; 1892, Charles H. Pitts; 1893, F. R. Walker; 1894, Charles H. Pitts; 1895, James B. Ross; 1896, Levi B. Dedrick; 1897—1898, W. Curtis, jr.

South Corinth is a hamlet located in the southern part of the town, on the Adirondack railroad.

Corinth was formed from Hadley April 20, 181St At the first town meeting held in April, 1819, Benjamin Cowles was elected supervisor and John W. Taylor clerk. Since that time the supervisors of Cornith have been:

1819—1820, Benjamin Cowles; 1821—1824, Samuel McCrea; 1825, David Rogers; 1826, Benjamin Cowles; 1827—1828, William Jones; 1829, David Rogers; 1830—1882, Thomas Dibble; 1833-1834, Benjamin Cowles; 1835—1837, Windsor Brown; 1838, Jeduthan Lindsay; 1839—1840, Obadiah Wood; 1841, William Ide; 1843, Benjamin Cowles; 1843-1844, Benjamin F. Sims; 1845-1848, Theodore W. Sanders; 1847, Henry S. Efnor; 1848, Arden Heath; 1849, Benjamin Grippin; 1850, Amasa B. Martin; 1851, Asahel Deuel; 1852, Arden Heath; 1853, Asahel Deuel; 1854, Arden Heath; 1855, A. C. T. Sherman; 1856, Arden Heath; 1857, N. W. Buckmaster; 1858, A. C. T. Sherman; 1859, Nathaniel M. Boughton; 1860, Sylvanus Rngg; 1861-1862. Franklin Carpenter; 1863, N. W. Buckmaster; 1864—1866, Tilly Honghton; 1867—1868, Franklin Carpenter; 1869, John C. Herrick; 1870—1874, John Ambler; 1875-1876, Isaac S. Murray; 1877, Gilbert C. Ide; 1878—1881, N. M. Boughton; 1882—1883, Warren Curtis; 1884—1885, Gustavus W. Edwards; 1886—1890, Daniel B. Ide; 1891—1892, Ezra Sayre; 1893—1895, John T. Rice; 1896—1898, Clarence L. Grippin.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Return to [ NY History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ]

NY Counties - Albany - Allegany - Broome - Cayuga - Chatauqua - Chenango - Clinton - Columbia - Cortland - Erie - Essex - Franklin - Fulton - Genesee - Herkimer - Jefferson - Lewis - Livingston - Madison - Montgomery - Niagara - Oneida - Onondaga - Ontario - Orange - Orleans - Oswego - Putnam - Queens - Rensselaer - Richmond - Rockland - St. Lawrence - Saratoga - Schenectady - Steuben - Suffolk - Tioga - Tompkins - Tryone - Ulster - Washington - Wayne - Yates

All pages copyright 2003-2012. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy