Day is the most northwesterly town of Saratoga county. Its northern boundary is the county line; it is bounded on the east by Hadley, on the south by Corinth and Edinburgh, and on the west by Edinburgh and the western boundary of the county. The town is described as follows by the Revised Statutes:

The town of Day shall contain all that part of said county. beginning at the east corner of the farm of Walter Hunt. on the north bank of the west branch of the Hudson river, and running from thence north thirty degrees and forty minutes west to the rear line of the river division of Palmer's Purchase; then along the said rear line westerly until it intersects the west bounds of the county; then along the said west bounds of the county, northerly, to the north bounds of the county; then along the same until a course of south thirty degrees and forty minutes east will strike the most northerly corner of lot No. 50, in Pairner's Purchase; then south thirty degrees and forty minutes east, to and along the easterly bounds of the lot marked H. P. P. to the said corners of said lot No. 50; then along the east bounds of said lot to the Sacandaga river; then on a course that will strike the east bounds of lot No. 3, in the subdivision of the twenty-fourth allotment of the Kayaderosseras patent; then south along the said east bounds to the town of Corinth; then west along the bounds of Corinth to the west corner thereof; and thence to the place of beginning.

Day is the most mountainous and most picturesque town in the county. The centre and southern half is occupied by a part of the Kayaderosseras range. Some of the peaks are quite lofty. Oak mountain and Bald mountain, both northwest of the centre of the town, reach an altitude of over 900 feet above the Sacandaga river, and probably 1,500 feet above the level of the sea. Rockwell's mountain, near Day Centre, is 200 feet lower. The Sacandaga river winds its way in a tortuous channel easterly through the southern part, the valley being most picturesque in places. Its principal tributary, Paul creek, drains Livingston lake, on the northern boundary, and flows south. Besides Livingston lake, which is the largest body of water in Day, Sand lake lies near the northern boundary, two and one-half miles west of Livingston lake; Mud lake lies about three miles south of Sand lake. The town consists largely of wild forest, with few highways except in the southern part. Deer, bears and other game abound.

The town was first settled in 1797 by David Johnson, a Revolutionary soldier, who located in the extreme eastern part, on the banks of the Sacandaga. Jonas Bond and Phineas Austin settled a short time afterward on the north side of the river, about a mile east of Dajr Centre. Henry Paul came in 1801, and in 1805 built a saw mill and grist mill, the first in town, at the mouth of Paul creek.

The western part of the village of Conklingville lies in Day. Besides this village, West Day (Huntsville) is a hamlet on the river in the southwest corner; Day Centre is about three miles further down the stream, and Crowville is a small hamlet on Sand creek, three and a half miles from its mouth. The Presbyterian church of Day was organized in 1842as the Reformed Protestant Dutch church; the M. E. church of Day Centre in 1865; the First Christian church in 1833; the Christian church of West Day in 1857.

Day was erected from Hadley and Edinburgh April 17, 1819. and was at first named Concord. The name was changed in 1827 in honor of Eliphaz Day, a prominent lumberman who had died a short time before. The supervisors of the town have been:

1820-26, Eliphaz Day: 1827-28, Stephen Lawson; 1829-34, Samuel Stimson; 1835, George Hunt; 1836-37, Amos Lawton; 1838, James L. Delong; 1839-42. Eliphaz M. Day; 1843-47, Zopher I. Delong; 1848, John J. Wait; 1849-55, Samuel Y. Rockwell; 1856, George Baker; 1857, Samuel Y. Rockwell; 1858-59, Zopher I. Delong; 1860-61, Peter V. Fraker; 1862-63, Isaac N. Scott; 1864-67, Samuel V. Rockwell; 1868, Isaac N. Scott; 1869, Hiram Deming; 1870-73, F. G. Macomber; 1874, Erastus Darling; 1875. Irving W. Guiles; 1876-77, Erastus Darling; 1878, Isaac N. Scott; 1879, Samuel Y. Rockwell; 1880-81, Hiram Darling; 1882, Erastus Darling; 1883, Samuel Y. Rockwell; 1884, James Green; 1885-86, Timothy Sullivan; 1887-88, Irving W. Guiles; 1889-90, Lewis Salmon; 1891-92, Benjamin F. Johnson; 1893, Frank Marcellus; 1894-95, Eugene F. Guiles; 1896-97. Hiram C. Denton; 1898, Charles H. Van Avery.

The town clerks have been as follows since 1847. The records up to that time are missing:

1847-48, Gordon Dimick. 1849, George Baker. 1850, Gordon Dimick. 1851-52, Warren A. Randall. 1853.54, H. C. Palmer. 1855, Warren A. RandalL 1856-58, William Scott 1859-61, Isaac N. Scott 1862, John F. Stimson. 1863, James 0. Paul. 1864-68, Hiram Deming, 1869-70, Edgar L. Deming. 1871-72, Erastus Darling. 1873 74, Edgar L. Deming. 1875, Thomas D. Yates. 1876, George F. Paul 1877, Charles Van Avery. 1878, Hiram Darling. 1879-81, A. H. Paul. 1882-83, George F. Paul. 1884, E. F. Gufles. 1885, George F. Paul 1886 Austin Howe. 1887-88, Charles Putnam. 1889-93, E. F. Guiles. 1894.98, Van R. Rhodes.

The following justices of the peace have been elected by the people:

1845, John Yates. 1846, Anthony Allen. 1847, Samuel Y. Rockwell 1848, Zopher I. Delong. 1849, John Yates. 1850, Anthony Allen (long term), George Baker (short term). 1851, Samuel V. Rockwell. 1852, George Baker. 1853, Joseph A. King. 1854, William Wait. 1855. John J. Wait 1856, Samuel V. Rockwell. 1857, Joseph A. King. 1858, George Baker (long term), L. H. Frasier (short term). 1859, L. H. Frasier. 1860, S. Y. Rockwell (long term) Zopher I. Delong (short term). 1861, Hezekiah Smith (long term), S. Y. Rockwell (short term). 1862, Thomas Frost 1863, P. L. Johnson. 1864, George Baker (long term), William Scott (short term). 1865. Hezekiah Smith (long term), A. Allen and S. V. Rockwell (vacancies). 1866, S. Y. Rockwell. 1867, J. S. Johnson (long term), S. Y. Rockwell and J. S. Johnson (vacancies). 1868, Charles L. Marcellus. 1869, John Fay Stimson. 1870, S. V. Rockwell (long term). John J. Wait (short term). 1871, Calvin Allen (long term), S. Y. Rockwell (short term). 1872, C. L. Marcellus. 1873, George Baker. 1874, S. Y. Rockwell (long term), J. F. Stimson (short term). 1875, Seth Aldrich. 1876. Warren A. Randall. 1877, J. M. Perqua. 1878, S. V. Rockwell. 1879, B. F. Johnson (long term), I. J. Flansburgh (short term). 1880, Seth Al4 rich. 1881, George Baker. 1882, I. J. Flansburgh. 1883, Seth Aldrich (did not qualify). 1884, John Curley (long term), B. F. Johnson (short term). 1885. Eugene Frost (long term), J. M. Perqua (short term). 1886. Charles A. Yates. 1887, B. F. Johnson. 1888, L. B. Shepard. 1889, Eugene Frost 1890, Charles A. Yates. 1891, O. E. Kathan. 1892, L. B. Shepard. 1893, Eugene Frost 1894, Charles A. Yates. 1895, O. E. Kathan. 1896. James Green. 1897, W. W. PauL 1898, Charles A. Yates.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Return to [ NY History ] [ History at Rays Place ] [ Rays Place ]

NY Counties - Albany - Allegany - Broome - Cayuga - Chatauqua - Chenango - Clinton - Columbia - Cortland - Erie - Essex - Franklin - Fulton - Genesee - Herkimer - Jefferson - Lewis - Livingston - Madison - Montgomery - Niagara - Oneida - Onondaga - Ontario - Orange - Orleans - Oswego - Putnam - Queens - Rensselaer - Richmond - Rockland - St. Lawrence - Saratoga - Schenectady - Steuben - Suffolk - Tioga - Tompkins - Tryone - Ulster - Washington - Wayne - Yates

All pages copyright 2003-2012. All items on this site are copyrighted by their author(s). These pages may be linked to but not used on another web site. Anyone may copy and use the information provided here freely for personal use only. Privacy Policy